SOLVED Batch File Mutiple File Editing

Reaction score
Hi
First post here and I need some help please.

My day job is draughting, I use a CAD package called intellicad.
I need to modify 1000's of files performing the same change in each file.

The change in each file can be handled by using a script file within the program, this has been tested and works as needed.
Using various internet searches I came across a command line batch process using the 'FOR' command and some examples.
From here I generated my bat file:

FOR %%f in (E:\"0001-PURGE ALL"\*.dwg) do start /wait C:\"Program Files"\"CMS"\"CMS IntelliCAD 8.2 Premium Edition Plus"\Icad.exe "%%f" /b "E:\0001-PURGE ALL\Purge-ALL.scr"

(note: Purge-ALL.scr is the script file which is run within intellicad)

This has been tested and it works well.
So why do I need help??

Well this only works in folder 'E:\0001-PURGE ALL' however all sub folders are ignored.
again internet searches suggested either the /D or /R would enable sub folders but neither has worked.

I have added the /D or /R:
FOR /D %%f in(...........
FOR /R %%f in(...........

Can anyone help me get this to work in sub folder as well as the route folder??
(note: E:\0001-PURGE ALL is a test folder)

SteveN
Windows 10 home 64bit

Regedit32

Reaction score
Hi Steven,

Welcome to the Forum.

Have you considered using the PowerShell built into Windows with your batch file?

You could then make use of the following flags:
  • -include *.dwg to force all files ending with extension .dwg to be removed from directory given
  • -recurse flag to remove items within subfolders.
  • -force to prevent administrative requests during recursion

For example:
Code:
PowerShell Remove-Item E:\0001-PURGE ALL -include *.dwg -recurse -force

In the event there was a specific DWG file you did need to keep though, for example alldogs.dwg you can make use of the -exclude flag to prevent its removal like so:
Code:
-exclude *dog*