Camera Issue


Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
System will not recognize the built in camera. I have tried all suggestions, but none solve my problem. Camera was working fine, but suddenly it stopped working. Nothing new installed, nothing changed with my security software. Please advise. Thanks.

Donald
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,497
Reaction score
505
Hi Donald,

Which camera is this - the one built in to a laptop? If so, can you please provide your full laptop model number.

If you right click on the start button and go to "Device Manager" - does the camera show up anywhere on that list? Perhaps under "Imaging Devices"?
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Hi Donald,

Which camera is this - the one built in to a laptop? If so, can you please provide your full laptop model number.

If you right click on the start button and go to "Device Manager" - does the camera show up anywhere on that list? Perhaps under "Imaging Devices"?
My computer is not a laptop. It is: HP Pavilion All-in-One - 24-b011. It has a built-in Intel RealSense Camera. I appreciate your help. Let me know if I can provide other needed information.

Donald
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,497
Reaction score
505
Thanks Donald - did anything show up for this?:

If you right click on the start button and go to "Device Manager" - does the camera show up anywhere on that list? Perhaps under "Imaging Devices"?
It may also be worth manually installing the drivers for this. Here's the link direct from the HP site:

http://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp75501-76000/sp75659.exe

(found on this page: https://support.hp.com/us-en/drivers/selfservice/hp-pavilion-24-b000-all-in-one-desktop-pc-series-touch/11046865/model/11771255)
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
I Tried the link and was told the drivers are up to date. Yes, the camera does show up under device manager. All driver properties show them to be working. I tried manually updating each one but they are all up to date. Really frustrating. Don't know what to do next. Thanks for your help.

Donald
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,497
Reaction score
505
If you load the default windows "Camera" app, does it detect anything? If you search for "camera" on the start menu, it's the one listed as "Trusted Windows Store App".
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
It says camera cannot be started. I have tried troubleshooting several times to no avail.

Donald
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,497
Reaction score
505
Can you try going to device manager, right click the webcam and to to properties. Then go to Driver > Uninstall Device and check the "delete the driver software for this device" if that box is available.

Once you've done that, restart the PC and let Windows re-detect the driver and install it again.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,180
Reaction score
804
Just a long shot and back to basics. You have looked in Settings - Privacy - Camera, to make sure the camera is on?
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Can you try going to device manager, right click the webcam and to to properties. Then go to Driver > Uninstall Device and check the "delete the driver software for this device" if that box is available.

Once you've done that, restart the PC and let Windows re-detect the driver and install it again.
I uninstalled the drivers and restarted the computer. The drivers are back and in working order, but still not able to access the camera. Error code is 0x00F4246(0x80070057). Any other thoughts? Thanks.

Donald
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
11,945
Reaction score
1,893
Try resetting the Camera App.
Start Button -> Settings Cog -> Apps -> Camera (select it) -> Advanced options (link) -> Reset (button)
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Try resetting the Camera App.
Start Button -> Settings Cog -> Apps -> Camera (select it) -> Advanced options (link) -> Reset (button)

Done, but nothing new to report. Here is a screenshot of what I get when I select camera from the start menu.

Donald

upload_2017-9-6_15-30-33.png
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
11,945
Reaction score
1,893
Any chance that this might be applicable
If your webcam or Camera app in Windows 10 won’t open and you get an error message saying that we can’t find or can’t start your camera (including error codes 0xA00F4244 or 0x200F4244), the cause might be antivirus software that’s blocking the webcam or camera
SOURCE: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/13753/windows-10-can-not-find-or-start-the-camera

Are you using any third party security suite on the problem computer?
 

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
11,945
Reaction score
1,893
Windows key + x and in the run dialog box type
services.msc
hit enter or click ok
In the services management console scroll down to
Windows Camera Frame Server see if you can start that if it is not running.
IF it is running stop it and see if that has any impact
Additionally
Double check Windows Image Acquisition make sure it is running and set to automatic
Just double click them to start or adjust the properties for startup type.

Failing that and IF you are comfortable working in the registry.....
Have a look here
https://appuals.com/how-to-fix-windows-10-cant-start-your-camera-error-0xa00f4246-0x887a0004/
Seems like a relatively simple registry edit and might be worth looking into.

NOTE: Any links that I provide may contain Ads and other links within them. Please do not click any of those, just read the contents of the article.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,180
Reaction score
804
I was plagued with the same problem on one of my computers. I tried all the remedies suggested in this thread, to no avail. In the end my son, who is a computer technician, said it was a harware problem, nothing to do with software.
He inspected and found a loos/almost severed, connection to the camera.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top