Camera Issue

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Donald Moore, Aug 2, 2017.

  1. Donald Moore

    Donald Moore

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    System will not recognize the built in camera. I have tried all suggestions, but none solve my problem. Camera was working fine, but suddenly it stopped working. Nothing new installed, nothing changed with my security software. Please advise. Thanks.

    Donald
     
    Donald Moore, Aug 2, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Donald Moore

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    458
    Hi Donald,

    Which camera is this - the one built in to a laptop? If so, can you please provide your full laptop model number.

    If you right click on the start button and go to "Device Manager" - does the camera show up anywhere on that list? Perhaps under "Imaging Devices"?
     
    Ian, Aug 3, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Donald Moore

    Donald Moore

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    My computer is not a laptop. It is: HP Pavilion All-in-One - 24-b011. It has a built-in Intel RealSense Camera. I appreciate your help. Let me know if I can provide other needed information.

    Donald
     
    Donald Moore, Sep 4, 2017
    #3
  4. Donald Moore

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    458
    Ian, Sep 5, 2017
    #4
  5. Donald Moore

    Donald Moore

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Tried the link and was told the drivers are up to date. Yes, the camera does show up under device manager. All driver properties show them to be working. I tried manually updating each one but they are all up to date. Really frustrating. Don't know what to do next. Thanks for your help.

    Donald
     
    Donald Moore, Sep 5, 2017
    #5
  6. Donald Moore

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    458
    If you load the default windows "Camera" app, does it detect anything? If you search for "camera" on the start menu, it's the one listed as "Trusted Windows Store App".
     
    Ian, Sep 5, 2017
    #6
  7. Donald Moore

    Donald Moore

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    It says camera cannot be started. I have tried troubleshooting several times to no avail.

    Donald
     
    Donald Moore, Sep 5, 2017
    #7
  8. Donald Moore

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    458
    Can you try going to device manager, right click the webcam and to to properties. Then go to Driver > Uninstall Device and check the "delete the driver software for this device" if that box is available.

    Once you've done that, restart the PC and let Windows re-detect the driver and install it again.
     
    Ian, Sep 6, 2017
    #8
    Trouble likes this.
  9. Donald Moore

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,565
    Likes Received:
    699
    Location:
    Denmark
    Just a long shot and back to basics. You have looked in Settings - Privacy - Camera, to make sure the camera is on?
     
    davehc, Sep 6, 2017
    #9
  10. Donald Moore

    Donald Moore

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I uninstalled the drivers and restarted the computer. The drivers are back and in working order, but still not able to access the camera. Error code is 0x00F4246(0x80070057). Any other thoughts? Thanks.

    Donald
     
    Donald Moore, Sep 6, 2017
    #10
  11. Donald Moore

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,218
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Try resetting the Camera App.
    Start Button -> Settings Cog -> Apps -> Camera (select it) -> Advanced options (link) -> Reset (button)
     
    Trouble, Sep 6, 2017
    #11
  12. Donald Moore

    Donald Moore

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0

    Done, but nothing new to report. Here is a screenshot of what I get when I select camera from the start menu.

    Donald

    upload_2017-9-6_15-30-33.png
     
    Donald Moore, Sep 6, 2017
    #12
  13. Donald Moore

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,218
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Any chance that this might be applicable
    SOURCE: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/13753/windows-10-can-not-find-or-start-the-camera

    Are you using any third party security suite on the problem computer?
     
    Trouble, Sep 6, 2017
    #13
  14. Donald Moore

    Donald Moore

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Donald Moore, Sep 6, 2017
    #14
  15. Donald Moore

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,218
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Windows key + x and in the run dialog box type
    services.msc
    hit enter or click ok
    In the services management console scroll down to
    Windows Camera Frame Server see if you can start that if it is not running.
    IF it is running stop it and see if that has any impact
    Additionally
    Double check Windows Image Acquisition make sure it is running and set to automatic
    Just double click them to start or adjust the properties for startup type.

    Failing that and IF you are comfortable working in the registry.....
    Have a look here
    https://appuals.com/how-to-fix-windows-10-cant-start-your-camera-error-0xa00f4246-0x887a0004/
    Seems like a relatively simple registry edit and might be worth looking into.

    NOTE: Any links that I provide may contain Ads and other links within them. Please do not click any of those, just read the contents of the article.
     
    Trouble, Sep 6, 2017
    #15
  16. Donald Moore

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,565
    Likes Received:
    699
    Location:
    Denmark
    I was plagued with the same problem on one of my computers. I tried all the remedies suggested in this thread, to no avail. In the end my son, who is a computer technician, said it was a harware problem, nothing to do with software.
    He inspected and found a loos/almost severed, connection to the camera.
     
    davehc, Sep 7, 2017
    #16
    Ian and Trouble like this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.