SOLVED Can't Open Any Of My Word Documents

Reaction score
Hi , Newbie here. I am honestly trying to learn. bought a manual and all. Definitely helps and I think windows ten okay maybe just takes awhile to learn new system? I am reading "the missing manual" a bit at a time and staring to 'get it". ANYWAY....the issue...

I just had window ten loaded by a computer guy this week and I just tried to open a document and was unable to open ANY documents. UMMMM... help please? I noticed word is not on my computer anymore (it was on my old XP) Is it because all my documents are in word? thanks for any help...

Dalene

Reaction score
Did the computer guy do the Windows update to get W10 or a clean install? If the latter then I guess he assumed you would reload Word form your original CD. I would check with the 'computer guy' before doing anything.

Bif

Reaction score
Hi and welcome..we're all trying to learn from each other here!..
First off was this computer guy installing Microsoft word or Office suite which is what you'll need to open a word doc.There are apps in the store that will also accomplish this..just search in the store.
Or check all of your installed app/programs for Microsoft Word or Suite.

Reaction score
BUT watch out for a little orange icon called 'get Office' That could suddenly get you a 1 GB download of the new Office 2016 for a 30 day trila and then possibly a bill for it later.

Reaction score
thank you all. I think it was a clean download and I don't think I have the disc anymore. Yeah and he installed open office so I would not have to pay for (word) office again. Is there anyway to convert the files or should I just "bite it" and buy official office again? If I do by Office will the documents open for sure? or am I having another problem? should my documents just have opened automatically without word installed?

Reaction score