Copy and Paste error

Discussion in 'Announcements, Suggestions and Feedback' started by davehc, Apr 27, 2016.

  1. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Denmark
    Can anyone verify that this is common, or is it my configuration. I occasionally7 type an answer in wordpad or notepad, for clarity, and then copy and paste into the forum. Now, This is an original. Take no notice of the context, it is just an example I have transcribed from another post.:

    Not important to your issue, but you do not need to right click the option. It is on the top menu, as you can see in my clip.
    I took advantage of a brand new installation I had available, and inserted my private Email account. This was the result. The left hand box , in my case at least, merely gives you an outline of anything sitting in the various parts - deleted, inbox..etc.. Perhaps you could detail anything extra, you are seeing there?

    If you do not want to see the left-hand pane, then you can drag it out of sight.


    And this is how it pastes:

    If you do not want to see the left-hand pane, then you can drag it out of sight. I took advantage of a brand new installation I had available, and inserted my private Email account. This was the result. The left hand box , in my case at least, merely gives you an outline of anything sitting in the various parts - deleted, inbox..etc.. Perhaps you could detail anything extra, you are seeing there? Not important to your issue, but you do not need to right click the option. It is on the top menu, as you can see in my clip.

    I have examined pretty much every configuration, but cannot find the reason for this. fwiw. It is only on this forum.
     
    davehc, Apr 27, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. davehc

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    260
    I've tried copying/pasting the same snippet from notepad to the forum editor and it seems to work OK for me in Chrome - which browser are you using and I'll try to replicate it?

    As a temporary workaround, you could change the text box editor mode using the button in the top-right corner of the text area (looks like a spanner on a sheet of paper). That will change the text entry box from WYSIWYG > basic text - then you can click the link under the editor to switch it back when needed.

    Once I can get it replicated I'll send in a bug report for a fix :).
     
    Ian, Apr 27, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. davehc

    Regedit32 Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    378
    Hi Dave,

    I've tested this using Notepad, with Word wrap both on then off, and Wordpad, with No wrap, Wrap to Rule, and Wrap to Window selected.

    In all scenarios the exact same issue occurred for me as you are experiencing here on the forum.

    I have found a work-around though:

    If you are using Wordpad, Click File | Save As and use Rich Text Format (RTF). As this forum is by default using RTF styles your layout of notes will remain the same if copied from a wordpad.RTF file then pasted here.

    Notepad does not offer this option, but to get around that here:
    • Copy from Notepad
    • Before pasting here click the BB Code Editor icon far right of Forum toolbar
    • Now paste
    • Then at bottom of BB Code Editor page click Use Rich Text Editor

      Your formatting will then remain as you had in your Notepad.

      This also works for Wordpad files not saved as Rich text formats
    Note for Ian: I was using Microsoft Edge when testing this issue, and as all ready stated had the same issue as Dave described, but discovered if you save notes as an RTF then the formatting remains unaltered when pasted into the Forums RTF message area, or as you also noted, by pasting to the BB Code Editor, then selecting RTF mode.

    Regards,

    Regedit32
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2016
    Regedit32, Apr 27, 2016
    #3
  4. davehc

    clifford_cooley

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I just copied Ian's comment pasted in Notpad. After placing a few line-breaks, I copied it again and pasted it here. Both times the text looked as it was when copying. For record I'm using Firefox 46.
     
    clifford_cooley, Apr 27, 2016
    #4
  5. davehc

    Regedit32 Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    378
    Hi Ian,

    I've all ready added a Note to you in my original response to Dave, but since then I've done some more testing:
    • Microsoft Edge Browser - format issue occurs unless I apply the two work arounds mentioned in my response to Dave
    • Chrome Browser - no format issue when pasting from Notepad or Wordpad (any file format)
    • Internet Explorer 11 - no format issue when pasting from Notepad or Wordpad (any file format)

    Regards,

    Regedit
     
    Regedit32, Apr 27, 2016
    #5
    Ian and clifford_cooley like this.
  6. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Denmark
    Many thanks, regedit. That answers the question. I do use Wordpad/rtf. I'll just give it another go:

    If you do not want to see the left-hand pane, then you can drag it out of sight. I took advantage of a brand new installation I had available, and inserted my private Email account. This was the result. The left hand box , in my case at least, merely gives you an outline of anything sitting in the various parts - deleted, inbox..etc.. Perhaps you could detail anything extra, you are seeing there?Not important to your issue, but you do not need to right click the option. It is on the top menu, as you can see in my clip.

    If you do not want to see the left-hand pane, then you can drag it out of sight. I took advantage of a brand new installation I had available, and inserted my private Email account. This was the result. The left hand box , in my case at least, merely gives you an outline of anything sitting in the various parts - deleted, inbox..etc.. Perhaps you could detail anything extra, you are seeing there?Not important to your issue, but you do not need to right click the option. It is on the top menu, as you can see in my clip.

    No joy, I'm afraid.

    Not too interested in the notepad workaround. Guess I'll just have to remember to use another browser when copying/pasting.


    Not important to your issue, but you do not need to right click the option. It is on the top menu, as you can see in my clip.

    I took advantage of a brand new installation I had available, and inserted my private Email account. This was the result. The left hand box , in my case at least, merely gives you an outline of anything sitting in the various parts - deleted, inbox..etc.. Perhaps you could detail anything extra, you are seeing there?

    If you do not want to see the left-hand pane, then you can drag it out of sight.

    This is with the workaround you suggested, Ian, does the trick. I'll stay with that for a while.

    Once again. Glad I am on this site. What a backup in help - I only posted a short while ago!

    P.S. I will be posting this as Envy feedback.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2016
    davehc, Apr 27, 2016
    #6
  7. davehc

    Regedit32 Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    378
    I note of interest,

    On Microsoft Edges feedback page in October 2015 this issue was raised, and then the thread was closed as they claimed this issue was fixed. If it was, I am wondering where the update is that fixes this.

    Their site is: https://connect.microsoft.com/IE/fe...t-when-pasting-into-contenteditable-from-word

    On another site compiling known issues they made this comment in late February:

    Microsoft Edge: The current version of the RTE appears to strip all formatting and line breaks when text is pasted in using Microsoft Edge, regardless of word processor. At this time, if you need to use the Rich Text Editor, our only suggestion is to use a different browser, such as Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

    Their site is: http://archiveofourown.org/known_issues

    There is also a Microsoft Developer thread running on this issue, but you need to register and sign in to view content. Located here if interested: https://developer.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-edge/platform/issues/5202226/

    Perhaps we all need to use the Feedback option built into Windows 10 to encourage the developers to repair the RTE service for Edge users :)
     
    Regedit32, Apr 27, 2016
    #7
  8. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Denmark
    God bless Microsoft
    "Perhaps we all need to use the Feedback option built into Windows 10 to encourage the developers to repair the RTE service for Edge users"

    I do wish everyone would. Nothing seriously wrong with Windows 10 in its entirety. But keep throwing the book at them.- It needs some improvements.
     
    davehc, Apr 27, 2016
    #8
  9. davehc

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    908
    Likes Received:
    260
    Good bit of detective work there @Regedit32!

    I'll get an Edge feedback report filed too :).
     
    Ian, Apr 27, 2016
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Francois Ravenelle

    Copy-Paste from taskbar recent files is not working

    Francois Ravenelle, Aug 18, 2015, in forum: Software
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    744
    Francois Ravenelle
    Aug 18, 2015
  2. Steph c

    Copy Paste Not working from edit menu or Ctrl keys

    Steph c, Sep 24, 2015, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,789
    Andy Kay
    Jul 1, 2016
  3. Steph c

    Copy Paste not working

    Steph c, Sep 24, 2015, in forum: Windows 10 Support
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    6,038
  4. metro5053
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    835
    Snuffy
    Jan 29, 2016
  5. Texas
    Replies:
    17
    Views:
    2,226
    Texas
    Feb 6, 2016
  6. clayto

    Copy & Paste issue here

    clayto, May 1, 2016, in forum: Windows 10 Support
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    556
    clayto
    May 1, 2016
  7. RHUEL M. FITZWATER

    cut,copy and paste win10

    RHUEL M. FITZWATER, Dec 8, 2016, in forum: Windows 10 Support
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    122
    RHUEL M. FITZWATER
    Dec 8, 2016
  8. Mick12

    Copy and Paste issues

    Mick12, Feb 4, 2017, in forum: Windows 10 Support
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    141
    Mick12
    Feb 4, 2017
Loading...