I can't get passed the W10 'Upgrade - Available' notification advice

Reaction score
Hi

My upgrade has arrived however when I click on the 'Upgrade Available' link the install hangs on the 'working on it' screen.

At one point this morning I received a message that said I need Administrator permission. No error code. I have not received this message again despite trying the link numerous times. I am an Administrator on the system.

Can anyone help?

Lenovo C30
W7 Pro 64 bit

Reaction score
Try this.......
Assuming you are now back on Win 7 Pro.

1. Download the media Creation Toll. Make sure you pick the correct bit version.
http://www.microsoft.com/en-US/soft...?OCID=reserve_r_PostReserve_MediaCreationTool
2. Run the Tool.
Select Create installation media for another PC option. That creates a Win 10 ISO.
3. Right click at the ISO > click Mount > click Setup.exe.
Installation will begin. This method allows you to keep your files, settings and apps. You can choose to "keep nothing".
This method does not require product key.
I used the same method to install my 2 laptops.

Reaction score
Thanks for this davidhk129.

A week or so ago I tried the ISO way as I was not keen on waiting for the 'your update is ready' advice. I couldn't get that to work.

Last night I got passed the user agreement and let the computer run overnight and upon coming home from work today I could not get either of my monitors to respond (DELL U2415's) however the computer was still running. I tried to kill the power to the monitors and unplugging the DP cable but none of those things worked.

In the end I rebooted the machine. No sign of Windows 10 installed.

I mentioned the Admin permission issue. I think I got that wrong. It appears to be a conflict with a program I use: Lastpass. I have uninstalled it but it keeps trying to load at startup and I don't know how. Might be related, might not.