SOLVED Incorrect login

Reaction score
I've been using windows 10 now for several months. I'm now receiving 'Incorrect Password' when trying to login. I have not changed my password, performed any upgrades, etc.
please help

Regedit32

Reaction score
Hi Frnazella,

Welcome to the Forum.

The first thing to do would be to check your keyboard. Have you accidently enabled CAPS-LOCK, or the NUM Lock keys? Is a SHIFT key stuck? Any of these keys stuck will alter what you are typing.

The second thing is to look at bottom right corner of screen, and confirm the Language option is matching your installation / keyboard. If not that too can create this situation as your mapped keys will have a different layout.

Has your internet connection not started yet? Signing in can be affected if the router is off or not ready yet.

Finally, in the password field, is there a light text saying PIN? Perhaps this field has swapped from password to pin without you realizing. If that is the case, simply click the icons below the field to select the correct option.

Reaction score
Unfortunately none of these are the issue, I had already checked to make sure cap lock was off, it doesn't indicate it wants a pin instead of password. As for the language of the keyboard I don't see any option for that in the lower right corner. When I checked the password using the 'eye' icon it displays my password as I typed it and should be...
none of these solutions worked. I rebooted several times hoping that would resolve the issue but no luck there either.
As for the internet connect it indicated it is connected.

Regedit32

Reaction score
Have you tried entering the password using the Ease of access > Onscreen keyboard?

Regedit32

Reaction score
Hmmm,

If the main keyboard and the on-screen keyboard will not work, and you are 100% certain you are entering correctly, that implies some form of corruption of the User Profile.