New to Win 10, no Hibernate?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by R_W_B, Apr 21, 2017.

  1. R_W_B

    R_W_B

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been using Win 10 a few weeks now, noticed there is no Hibernate option. I sometimes used Hibernate on Win 7. I see Win 10 does have Sleep but if I remember correctly on Win 7 Sleep was not quite the same as Hibernate?

    Appreciate any info on this subject.
     
    R_W_B, Apr 21, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. R_W_B

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10,604
    Likes Received:
    1,624
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Hibernate is still an option in Windows 10, unless you have taken steps to disable it
    Disable Hibernation (from an elevated command prompt)
    Enable Hibernation (from an elevated command prompt)
    Right click the start button and choose "Power Options" from the context menu.
    Right side of window -> right column -> "Additional power settings"
    Link "Change plan settings"
    Link "Change advanced power settings"
    Should produce this

    Capture.PNG
     
    Trouble, Apr 21, 2017
    #2
    R_W_B likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. R_W_B

    bassfisher6522 Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    92
    bassfisher6522, Apr 21, 2017
    #3
    R_W_B likes this.
  4. R_W_B

    R_W_B

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to both replies, that explained all my questions.
     
    R_W_B, Apr 23, 2017
    #4
  5. R_W_B

    Patricia Shannon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had set my laptop to have hibernate as an option. It no longer does so, and the option to enable it is no longer present.
    I am really mad. I can no longer hibernate my laptop. I had found out how to implement this. When I went to close down yesterday to go to a meeting, I didn't have time to wait for updates, and had to make it Sleep, which uses battery power. In some circumstances, like if I had to evacuate during an emergency, this would have been a really big problem. I suspect it was from a Windows 10 update, unless it was something Dell did when they had it to replace their defective speaker.

    It is also not environmental friendly to force the computer to use power when I'm not using it.
     
    Patricia Shannon, Aug 31, 2017
    #5
  6. R_W_B

    Patricia Shannon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dell told me how to get hibernate back.
    At the command prompt, type:

    powercfg /h /type full <Enter>

    It should return a message like:

    The hiberfile size has been set to: 1659109376 bytes.
     
    Patricia Shannon, Aug 31, 2017
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.