No Option to Connect via WiFi

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Support' started by NathanS, Mar 6, 2016.

  1. NathanS

    NathanS

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I have a HP computer with built in WiFi access running Windows 10. All of a sudden, I have no option to connect to WiFi, but only have an option to connect with Ethernet. The WiFi options disappeared and I can't find a way to connect without using Ethernet. Any help?
     
    NathanS, Mar 6, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. NathanS

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Guelph On
    Go to device manager and check if the adapter shows up under network adapters. If it shows up check properties. There are three simple possibilities. AND it could be any 1,2 or 3 of them!
    The adapter driver is not working ( yellow excla point)
    The adapter is disabled
    In the adapter properties it has the "allow computer to turn off ....for power saving" That last one has caught many people. It is for sure a Windows 10 bug.

    Try these and get back to us.
     
    Tim Locke, Mar 6, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. NathanS

    NathanS

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked that and it says the device is working properly. It's just that there's no option to connect to my internet by using WiFi. I had it before, but it's now just gone. No options to connect with WiFi anywhere. I can't seem to figure out what's wrong. I may just decide to do a factory reset with my computer, but that's my last resort...
     
    NathanS, Mar 6, 2016
    #3
  4. NathanS

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10,610
    Likes Received:
    1,625
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    IS this a laptop or a desktop?
    Some laptops have a physical switch or a keyboard combination like Fn + F2 to physically turn the wireless radio on.
     
    Trouble, Mar 6, 2016
    #4
  5. NathanS

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Guelph On
    ^^^ Yes. Does the PC have airplane mode on ? You left click on the network icon and see nothing.

    Does your router broadcast the SSID?
     
    Tim Locke, Mar 6, 2016
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.