SOLVED Odd quirk of latest update

Reaction score
A few days ago I got updated from v. 1607 build 14393.576 to build 14393.953. Ever since then my computer will not boot until I unplug some external hard drives from their USB port. After rebooting is finished I can plug them back in and they work fine. I've experienced this with every reboot since the update.

Any ideas how they could be connected and what might be going on here. I've been running Windows 10 home since 2015 with all those external drives and it's never affected rebooting before.

Thanks,
Larry

Regedit32

Reaction score
Hi Larry,

I'm not sure how installing an update would affect the BIOS, but that is the first place I'd be taking a look to ensure that the C partition is booting before any external hard drives. If the external drives boot first no OS will be found and hence the computer will not boot up.

Take a look in your BIOS settings and let us know if that turned out to be the problem or not.

Alternately, do you have an Express Card handy? The drivers for that start on Startup but not before the BIOS checks for drives, so in theory that would avoid this entire boot order issue.

On that note you might also want to check the Drivers for your External Drives and USB ports have not been reset to generic ones since the Update; it may be as simple as reinstalling the drivers.

Regards,

Regedit32

Reaction score
Hi Regedit32,
Here's the boot order in my BIOS:
1st Internal ODD Device
2nd USB Storage Device
3rd Internal HDD Device
4th USB Floppy Device
5th Onboard NIC Device

I don't understand the difference between the ODD and the HDD device.
This computer has a 500 gigabyte regular hard drive (C) with the operating system on it and a 2 TB solid state drive for storage.

Larry

Reaction score
I forgot to address the Express Card comment. I don't know what that is so I'm sure I don't have one.