SOLVED Old Software

Reaction score
Hi, I have some genealogy discs that I need to use but they are from when I had XP, is there any way to make them work with Windows 10
Lindsay

Last edited by a moderator:
Reaction score
You may be able to run them in compatibility mode but it could be hit and miss. There is an option to be able to run these in a virtual machine using XP. However, I have no experience with VM's so I cannot help you in that regard.
They may be members here that are more knowledgeable about VM's .

Reaction score
I came across this application a few days ago. It is freeware that will import from a variety of formats.

If you know someone with an XP machine you might can export to a format that Gramps supports. I know Family Tree Maker can export as GedCom and CSV. Both of those formats can be imported using Gramps.

Reaction score
You may be able to run them in compatibility mode but it could be hit and miss. There is an option to be able to run these in a virtual machine using XP. However, I have no experience with VM's so I cannot help you in that regard.
They may be members here that are more knowledgeable about VM's .
Thank You
I came across this application a few days ago. It is freeware that will import from a variety of formats.

If you know someone with an XP machine you might can export to a format that Gramps supports. I know Family Tree Maker can export as GedCom and CSV. Both of those formats can be imported using Gramps.
Thanks, I have my old laptop that has XP so will try your suggestion

Reaction score
It maybe that you just need to run the setup.exe on those disks in W7 compatibility mode. Does the application contain its own database?

Reaction score
Didn't work, am thinking is it possible to load xp onto a separate drive and use that, am a bit worried as I am sure he old laptop hasn't much longer to live

Reaction score