Password required upon waking...

WYE

Reaction score
As of this afternoon I am being asked to enter a password every time I wake my desktop pc even though I've set it so a password is never required. The message on my pc says, "Authentication is required when this PC wakes from sleep. Security policies on this PC are preventing you from changing this setting." The only thing I have done differently today is set up the mail app to handle my different accounts. This is frustrating. So far Windows 10 has caused me more frustration than benefits. I appreciate any all suggestions and assistance. Please use plain speak as I am not computer savvy. Thanks in advance!!

Reaction score
Hello WYE,

First of all, I am not a computer expert, but I always fix my problems when is possible. So, let's check if your computer is set or not to ask for a password. Click on the Windows logo and go to the 'settings'.Then go to 'accounts'. Then go to 'sign-in options', on the right side you're gonna see 'require sing-in'. So, check if the box is chosen 'Never'. If not, choose it as 'Never'. It seems basic, but you should check it. I hope it helps. If it is not clear for you just ask and I'll try to help.

WYE

Reaction score
Thanks for responding Rose Garcia. I tried your suggestion, but wasn't able to change settings. I have included a picture of the screen. Something has changed my settings without my knowledge with the following warning: "Authentication is required when this PC wakes from sleep. Security policies on this PC are preventing you from changing this setting." Again, thank you for your suggestion. If you think of anything else I'm all ears. :)

Attachments

• PW req pic 1.jpg
    PW req pic 1.jpg
    30.5 KB · Views: 726

WYE

Reaction score