Profile deleting.

Reaction score
Hi, apologies if this is a basic question and covered already. I'm new to W10 and am faced with an issue I'm not sure how to solve.

Due to a bereavement I have to pass on a laptop which currently has W10 installed, BUT have to erase everything to do with the original owner. Their profile is the only one on the laptop and is password protected.

Now, I think I either have to create another profile and delete the original one...OR wipe the hard drive?

If I create a new profile, am I correct in thinking I need to use an email address to set the profile up? This may be an issue as I obviously don't want to pass this laptop onto someone with my details on it.

If I do a hard drive wipe, will it revert back to W8 (which it came with), and leave the new owner responsible for upgrading to W10?

Would appreciate any advice I can get, perhaps I'm over thinking things, and there is a 3rd option??

Thank you,
Mark

Reaction score
For security reasons I would remove HD connect it to a second PC and wipe the drive clean. Leave nothing not even the OS. You have no idea what confidential information is on that drive. If confidential info gets into the wrong hands It could ruin family members, friendships bank accounts and other financial information could be in jeopardy. If you don't know how to wipe the drive, please take it to a professional. Explain the situation and request your presence while they wipe the drive.

bassfisher6522

Reaction score
If I do a hard drive wipe, will it revert back to W8 (which it came with), and leave the new owner responsible for upgrading to W10?
That depends on "how" you do this. A factory reset will wipe the drive and restore it to the original OS. A clean install of windows 10, which is supposed to be possible after and upgrade from 7/8/8.1 to 10, will wipe the drive and reinstall windows 10. This will wipe the D drive where the factory recovery resides.

Reaction score