System Services don't see ethernet.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Terry515, Nov 29, 2016.

  1. Terry515

    Terry515

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi folks,

    I'm brand new to the forum and have strange things happening with my computer since installing Windows 10.
    I have a HP-Pavilion AV321AV-ABA e9180t 64 bit i7 - 920.

    I had problems with audio, RAID system, and with system services internet access, and had to reset the system. The audio works now but, some system services / applications don't see the internet connection (for instance the ReportingHub for automated error wizard, the e-mail setup utility doesn't see the server, I don't think windows update is working either but i can't really tell (and there is no icon for it in the control panel).

    Now web access (Firefox, IE) work fine, so am baffled why other services/apps don't see the internet. This problem was there when using WiFi also. Do I need to adjust internet settings, network settings, or ...?

    P.S. I'm not using a proxy server and am using automatically detect settings

    Thanks for your help

    Terry515
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2016
    Terry515, Nov 29, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Terry515

    Terry515

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Additional comments to add to my original problem. When I connect to my wireless router, the system says there is no internet, yet FireFox (&IE) work fine. It doesn't seem to matter whether I connect to the Ethernet or wireless the system also says it is not connected to a network. I've seen comments that the computer should be set to a private mode, yet without recognizing a network at all, there is no way to check or change this...

    Terry515
     
    Terry515, Dec 13, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Terry515

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10,149
    Likes Received:
    1,466
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Hello and welcome to the forum.
    Which version of Windows 10 does your computer report, that you are currently running.
    Right click the Start Button and choose "Run" from the context menu and in the Run Dialog box type
    winver
    hit enter or click OK.
    Should look something like this....

    Capture.PNG

    Version 1607 (OS Build 14393.479) ??
     
    Trouble, Dec 13, 2016
    #3
  4. Terry515

    DarwinJones

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    try to do system restore and reinstall windows 10.
    I always do this if ever I'm not sure if I configure the setting properly.
     
    DarwinJones, Dec 14, 2016
    #4
  5. Terry515

    Terry515

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies,

    Trouble reply: I have version 10 build 14393.0. It would be nice to get the latest, but the system doesn't see any network and doesn't even think it's got internet, not sure how I would get a later version anyway (windows update doesn't see an internet connection).

    DarwinJones reply: I already did a restore before starting this thread. I had had problems with the RAID and audio plus the network connections issues. Now I only have the network issue.

    BTW, I am now using my home wifi. I have internet connection to foxfire. Curiously, My wifi satatus says I'm not connected to anything.
     
    Terry515, Dec 14, 2016
    #5
  6. Terry515

    Terry515

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Follow up to Trouble post:
    in addition to the version and build stated, where your picture said it was licensed to "windows user" mine says

    user name
    org name

    Maybe this is the problem?

     
    Terry515, Dec 14, 2016
    #6
  7. Terry515

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10,149
    Likes Received:
    1,466
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Is Device Manager, showing anything under Network Adapters?
    IF you right click the Start Button and choose Run from the context menu and in the Run Dialog box type
    ncpa.cpl
    What shows up in the Network Connections window.
    IF it lists the adapter(s) right click one and choose "Status" button, then use the "Detail" button to see the IP addressing scheme.

    Capture.PNG

    You might also try assigning static values to the IPv4 TCP\IP to see if your issues are with DHCP. Just use the "Properties" button.
     
    Trouble, Dec 14, 2016
    #7
  8. Terry515

    Terry515

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Picture of network status. appears normal:
    upload_2016-12-17_10-4-2.png
     
    Terry515, Dec 17, 2016
    #8
  9. Terry515

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10,149
    Likes Received:
    1,466
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    It does. Typical Comcast / xFinity IP addressing schema.
    Have you ran the native System File Checker to see if it finds any violations?
    Right click the start button and choose Command prompt (Admin) from the context menu and in the command prompt window type
    sfc /scannow
    hit enter and let it run and see if it finds anything.
     
    Trouble, Dec 17, 2016
    #9
  10. Terry515

    Terry515

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    21 Dec 16
    No violations found.
    Interesting though, now the WiFi doesn't see any networks. It also seen lots of them...

    Terry Hols
     
    Terry515, Dec 21, 2016
    #10
  11. Terry515

    Terry515

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, Last sentence should say "It used to see lots of them."
     
    Terry515, Dec 21, 2016
    #11
  12. Terry515

    Terry515

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm thinking this is the problem:
    upload_2016-12-22_14-56-40.png
    The license is not assigned?

    Terry515
     

    Attached Files:

    Terry515, Dec 22, 2016
    #12
  13. Terry515

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10,149
    Likes Received:
    1,466
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Most Windows 10 machines, that are not participating in the "Insider Program" are currently running ......
    Version 1607 (OS Build 14393.576), and.....
    Yours is showing Version 1607 (OS Build 14393.577)

    Is this machine an Insider machine on the Release Preview ring or something?
    Where did you get this build?

    I don't have my release preview machine running right now so I can't check its' build number, but I will a little later.
    And no ..... the license assignment are kind of vague now.

    Capture1.PNG
     
    Trouble, Dec 22, 2016
    #13
  14. Terry515

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10,149
    Likes Received:
    1,466
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Fired up my Release Preview Insider machine, double checked manually to confirm that all updates were applied and up to date, and found it is also only running .576
    Capture.PNG

    So that begs the question.....
    Where did your build number .577 come from??
     
    Trouble, Dec 22, 2016
    #14
  15. Terry515

    Terry515

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have an insider computer. The update was a free upgrade. I found a cumulative update for windows 10 dated 20 Dec 16, that I downloaded and updated my system with (KB3213522) 64 bit version. I did this because my system never sees any network or internet connection (but firefox, and IE worked fine), so I continue with no updates, no looking for updated drivers, no error checking/reporting (report hub doesn't see internet)... Turns out this update did nothing to help and in fact killed my audio again. It also fails to restore to the restore point I manually created before installing the cumulative update. got errors 0xc000021a and 0x80070002. Luckily, I continued onward anyway and it appears to have successfully returned to the post cumulative update state....

    Disenchanted...(frustrated is creeping up)
     
    Terry515, Dec 23, 2016
    #15
  16. Terry515

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10,149
    Likes Received:
    1,466
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Trouble, Dec 23, 2016
    #16
  17. Terry515

    Terry515

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    no joy on the complete internet repair.
    thols515
     
    Terry515, Dec 25, 2016
    #17
  18. Terry515

    Terry515

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perhaps my problem is related to my user profile.
    It's a whopping 21.3 GB in size!
    I tried creating another account, it didn't change anything.

    Thols515
     
    Terry515, Dec 25, 2016
    #18
  19. Terry515

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10,149
    Likes Received:
    1,466
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Maybe try reverting your wired Ethernet driver back to the Intel driver for Windows 7 and see if that works
    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/do...k-Adapter-Driver-for-Windows-7-?product=32208
    So you may have to see what HP has that might be similar
    The latest I could find for 64 bit system is Vista 64 bit dating all the way back to 2009
    http://support.hp.com/us-en/drivers...e9000-Desktop-PC-series/3942792/model/4003106
    At this point, anything might be worth a try. I noticed that Intel has stopped supporting that particular Ethernet adapter on anything past Windows 7 64bit
     
    Trouble, Dec 25, 2016
    #19
  20. Terry515

    Terry515

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    ===================================================================================
    Sorry its been a while, I tried the HP link to Vista OS HP drivers, they won't let me install them because I currently using windows 10. I do have snipit (large actually) of a wlan report. It claims the network is disconnected by the user. any thoughts (sorry for the size):

    This sequence repeats: Interface token applied, successful connection to a wireless network, capability change brought on by PassivePacketHops, reapplication of token results in no connectivity to the network, which is then disconnected…(a security protocol mismatch?) Reason given is “The network is disconnected by the user.” ???


    upload_2017-2-2_13-6-23.jpeg

    Any thoughts?
    Terry515
     
    Terry515, Feb 2, 2017
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. RoyalB2
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    12,593
    RogMan
    Jan 4, 2016
  2. Firsterin
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    929
    Trouble
    Dec 4, 2015
  3. Thermovatic

    A lot of system programs don't work

    Thermovatic, Dec 30, 2015, in forum: Installation, Setup and Updates
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    617
    Trouble
    Jan 2, 2016
  4. tome
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,184
    Trouble
    Jan 5, 2016
  5. 0boogie2

    Failed to connect to windows services

    0boogie2, Feb 17, 2016, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,827
    Trouble
    Feb 17, 2016
  6. LocalNut

    Auto Services Stopped

    LocalNut, Feb 25, 2016, in forum: Windows 10 Support
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    554
    LocalNut
    Feb 25, 2016
  7. Starkman

    SOLVED Well, this ain't the Desktop...I don't think. What is it?

    Starkman, Mar 18, 2016, in forum: Windows 10 Support
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    474
    Trouble
    Mar 20, 2016
  8. Tom Barkoukis
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    673
    Tom Barkoukis
    Sep 29, 2016
Loading...