SOLVED Win 10 recovery USB not accessed trying to repair not booting problem

Reaction score
I'm a pensioner & complete novice trying to solve issues using web search. My wife's Acer laptop upgraded successfully from Win 8.1 to Win 10. Think laptop power was switched off (27Oct15) whilst it was in sleep mode, and since then each power on shows Acer logo then shows 'preparing Automatic Repair' but screen goes blank after some 15 minutes. Tried several possible solutions and discussed with Acer who now say they will send recovery disc for Win 8.1 OS. Will use this as last resort but really can't understand why our Win 10 recovery USB is not being accessed (it was created successfully straight after Win 10 upgrade)? Been changing various options using <F2> key at boot up to access Setup Utility with no luck, but noticed I can not change the Secure Boot?
Have read similar posts but all seem to be making the changes once Win 10 has loaded, which I can't achieve. Also worried that if I have to use the Win 8.1 recovery disc, how do I 'upgrade' again to Win 10 and will same problem recur after future incorrect shut downs? Can I get Microsoft to send me a Win 10 recovery disc?
A lot of questions here but all I want to do is get the laptop running with Win 10 - any help would be greatly appreciated.

bassfisher6522

Reaction score
Does the Acer website for your make/model laptop have driver/software support for the windows 10 upgrade? If not, then I'd stick with windows 8.1.

Reaction score
When booting from a USB flash drive, the file format must be FAT32 while creating the boot media for the UEFI bios to see it. Also you would have to be able to get into the UEFI bios to change the boot sequence to boot to the USB drive first.

Microsoft allows you to download installation media online for both Windows 8.1 and Windows 10. Just do a Google search and you should be able to find the right web page.