Windows 10 "free upgrade" and cd driver issues......for the millionth time??????

Reaction score
Windows 10 "free" upgrade is about to turn me into a Mac fan. I've owned this laptop for a few years with ZERO problems until I erroneously did this "free" upgrade which has cost me more in time than a new PC would have cost....several times over. I absolutely cannot find a concrete answer to the questions that has been asked MANY times all over the internet. My computer no longer acknowledges my CD drive period. This problem is apparently VERY common and I honestly haven's seen a simple solution. I'm not a computer expert, I'm a finance expert, so talking in mystical IT talk does absolutely no good. Is there a simple resolution or should I just go to the "dark side"??? Please help, beyond aggravated user.

Reaction score
My advice, especially if it's an older laptop, is to reinstall the previous OS. A lot of laptop manufactures (and some desktop manufactures) refuse to update the drivers for older models. The only other thing I would suggest is to find the specific model of your CD drive, and search for a firmware update. Microsoft deserves blame for a lot of things, but this most likely isn't one of them.

Regedit32

Reaction score
Hi howyadoiaz,

You're correct to note this is an issue exhaustively covered within multiple forums. In fact this is an issue that arose back with Windows 7, got resolved, then reappeared with the release of Windows 8.1, and again got resolved.

You'll see here (if you have not all ready read this site) that Microsoft provided 5 options for resolving this kind of of issue for Windows 7, 8 and 8.1 users. They even provided a Fixit tool in one scenario. However it would be unwise to use that tool with Windows 10 as Microsoft does not recommend this fix option for the Windows 10 OS at this stage. https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/314060