Windows 10 start menu disabled

SOLVED Discussion in 'Windows 10 Support' started by maggiejane0, Feb 2, 2017.

  1. maggiejane0

    maggiejane0

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a few days ago I noticed a couple of icons missing from my task bar at the bottom. Then the start bar wont work, the cortana search box won't work and right-click display settings and personalize report that no program is associated with the action...MIcrosoft Edge is no longer on the computer.

    Does anyone have a fix for this???
     
    maggiejane0, Feb 2, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. maggiejane0

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,146
    Likes Received:
    1,731
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Hello and welcome to the forum.
    Sounds like your current user profile took a serious hit.
    As a test you might try adding another user account as a member of the local administrators group and see if the problem persists using that account.
    Using File Explorer Go to
    C:\Windows\System32
    Find
    Cmd.exe (if you're hiding extensions of known types it might just say "cmd")
    Right click it and choose run as administrator
    At the admin command prompt type
    net user JohnSmith /add
    hit enter
    then type
    net localgroup administrators JohnSmith /add
    hit enter
    type
    exit
    hit enter
    Restart and log in as JohnSmith

    NOTE: Obviously you don't have to use "JohnSmith" it can be Tom, Dick or Harry, since it is a test account which you probably won't keep it really doesn't make any difference which name you use.
     
    Trouble, Feb 3, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. maggiejane0

    maggiejane0

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK...thank you very much,that worked!!! Now I have a user profile that needs to be rebuilt...passwords and all! Or is there a file(s) that can "replenish" all the personal info into a new profile?
     
    maggiejane0, Feb 3, 2017
    #3
  4. maggiejane0

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,146
    Likes Received:
    1,731
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    I wish.
    Rebuilding a user profile (from old user to new user) remains pretty much the same as it has been in previous Windows iterations.
    The one caveat being you need a third user (admin) to make it work correctly. Most people just temporarily enable the hidden administrator account.
    Elevated command prompt
    net user administrator /active:yes
    When you're done
    net user administrator /active:no
    Use that administrator account to copy the contents of your old profile folders over to their respective location in your new profile folder.
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/14039/windows-7-fix-corrupted-user-profile
     
    Trouble, Feb 3, 2017
    #4
  5. maggiejane0

    maggiejane0

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perfect...thanks again.
     
    maggiejane0, Feb 3, 2017
    #5
  6. maggiejane0

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,146
    Likes Received:
    1,731
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    Just make sure to leave any system files that begin with NT alone as one of those are the likely location of the corruption.
    Not necessarily exactly the same names that you might find in Win 10 versus Win 7, but you get the idea.
     
    Trouble, Feb 3, 2017
    #6
  7. maggiejane0

    l1234

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Trouble Noob Whisperer. I have had a very similar problem since yesterday. See my post: Update removed programs Mar 18, 2017. This seems like a very complicated solution! Why did this happen? I didn't so anything to cause it and it seemed to happen a day after the most recent Windows update. Is that what caused it?
     
    l1234, Mar 19, 2017
    #7
  8. maggiejane0

    suemccartin

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure this is exactly my issue. After a update yesterday or the day before cortana popped up and wanted me to set her up, I tried to cancel it but she apparently butted into my life anyway. now my computer sometimes runs very slowly and takes a long time to respond to commands, I have checked task manager and it doesn't look like anything is memory hogging or pegging the cpu (I've got a amd 9370 something like 3.4 ghz would be tough for anything to peg it out I think). I tried the trick above and it said access denied. Could this be some sort of virus? My windows button no longer works AT ALL I can right click on it and get some stuff but the list of programs no longer pops up and one of my games that runs full screen windowed is acting weird the task bar does not go away as it usually does and a few things aren't working right in the game. I've rebooted a few times no change, I took it all the way down to cold, no change. I do not currently suspect hardware issues but I have unplugged the usb hub and put it in a different plug as that "should" force driver reloads for the things on the hub anyway. What next? a Verify perhaps? Sometimes I just want to buy a mac and toss this thing out the window.
     
    suemccartin, Dec 2, 2017
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.