Windows 10 System Image


Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
121
Reaction score
9
This is a re-posting of a thread I prematurely marked SOLVED. Actually, it was not premature. I did manage what appears to be a system image BUT:

Yesterday I completed the upgrade to 1809 and decided, after checking many of the functions that I use regularly, I decided to do a backup and create a new system image using Windows10 tools.

Everything seemed to be progressing naturally - until the end when I got the notifification that "Windows Backup Did Not Complete Successfully".

When I drill down into the backup drive (F:) in File Explorer I find what appears to be a system image backup (FileHistory and WindowsImageBackup).

In File History all but the last three folders (229,230 and 231) contain what appears to be valid date.

Is there a chance that I do have a valid backup and is it complete? Is there a way to relate those three file names to data on E:?
 

Attachments

Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
1,910
Reaction score
266
The File History and System Image backups are different processes. Each can be done by itself.

The file history does not overwrite previously backed up files but just adds any new ones.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
121
Reaction score
9
Thank you. I realized that they were two different operations but I ran them back to back and when done I got that error message.

I believe then that you are telling me the system image is likely good and that the file history image is in doubt. IIUC then I am okay because I have all the data backed elsewhere.

I might add that I later discovered the error code. It was 0X 80070013 which I have not yet looked into. I quickly glanced over something about drivers.

Thanks for responding. It has helped me.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2015
Messages
141
Reaction score
21
I believe then that you are telling me the system image is likely good
I think your image is ok. Here's how to verify it.
1. Mount it in disk Management. (Right click on largest Image file, select Mount)
Backup File List.jpg
2. Open Disk Management. (Right click Start, Left click Disk Management.)
3. If no drive letter is assigned, add one.
Backup Mounted in Disk Management.jpg
4. Verify files in File Explorer.
Files Viewed in Explorer.jpg

Hope this helps.
Gary
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2015
Messages
141
Reaction score
21
FWIW, I've never had much success restoring Windows 7 backups. Been problems everytime. I prefer to clone my disk to a separate disk. I have successfully used Aomei, Easeus, Minitool, and Macrium Reflect. Usually I use Aomei Backup to do a clone of the system drive.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
1,910
Reaction score
266
The error code (13) means:

ERROR_WRITE_PROTECT
19 (0x13)
The media is write protected.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
2,826
Reaction score
622
Even MS recommend using a third party program to perform backups. Win 7 backup has become unreliable. I have Macrium and Aomei and have found them to be very reliable.
If you are going to switch backup your procedure don't forget to create a boot disc or USB.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
1,910
Reaction score
266
Win 7 backup has become unreliable.
You need to be careful what you post. I saw one thread where a Microsoft employee admonished a poster for making such a claim. The utility is just as reliable now as it was in Win 7.

The final decision is up to the user. A bad experience with one utility will eventually lead to an opinion being formed.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
121
Reaction score
9
I think I may have confused myself. In the images that I posted here, are all of the references to a "backup" actually referring to the system image? I notice that "File History" completed; furthermore, I have just run File History twice more with no qlitches.

If the error (0X 80070013 reports "Media Write Only (Write Protected)" - which media are we talking about. Is it not true that the only media involved is the HD?
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
2,826
Reaction score
622
Saltgrass Let me re-phrase that. MS and it's Windows OS has become unreliable period. There are more versions of Windows 10 out there because of unreliability, many users are afraid to update. MS created the mess they are currently in, they can't eve put out a fully functional cumulative update.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2015
Messages
141
Reaction score
21
think I may have confused myself. In the images that I posted here, are all of the references to a "backup" actually referring to the system image? I
Depends upon your selections when you set up the backup parameters. You have to specifically select "Include a system image..."
Backup choices..JPG
https://www.zetta.net/about/blog/common-backup-vs-system-image-backup-which-do-you-need

A system image is also not the same as cloning.

EDIT: See this link re: error code 0x80070013
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_10-update/error-code-0x80070013-is-shown-in-windows-10-when/b3b1fec7-b72a-45e6-8cc5-0481d67979f5?auth=1
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
121
Reaction score
9
Macrium here
You weren't the only one to advise Macrium. I may now be still another follower. After trying the Windows tool several times today with the same frustrating results I gave Macrium a shot. It ran through quite smoothly. Now that I have it, I need to learn how to use it.

I THINK that I will first clean my F: drive and start over. I am uncertain as to which files/folders are worth keeping and which should be discarded. F: is a new 2T HD that has been the destination for all of my recovery files on this computer.

Last question (for now). Does Macrium also create a System Repair Disk or will the one I have suffice?

MY Thanks to all who have helped me arrive at this point.
 
Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
2,367
Reaction score
365
Macrium creates a dvd/cd or a Flash drive when you first use it and then every time it needs to do so. This is used for an emergency boot . I have never had to use it. Not very often and it will tell you. A Full Macrium backup to a disk ( I use a spare SSD in an enclosure using USB 3 for my laptop ) is bootable which makes things easy and of course it has the whole machine contents on it.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
You weren't the only one to advise Macrium. I may now be still another follower. After trying the Windows tool several times today with the same frustrating results I gave Macrium a shot. It ran through quite smoothly. Now that I have it, I need to learn how to use it.

I THINK that I will first clean my F: drive and start over. I am uncertain as to which files/folders are worth keeping and which should be discarded. F: is a new 2T HD that has been the destination for all of my recovery files on this computer.

Last question (for now). Does Macrium also create a System Repair Disk or will the one I have suffice?

MY Thanks to all who have helped me arrive at this point.
Yes it does - have a look at top left of the Macrium interface Backup tab > Backup Tasks > Other Tasks > Create bootable Resue media

Alternatively the Windows10 Repair Media (aka Recovery Drive but with Unchecked system files) will fit onto a half gb usb drive and can be used with the Windows10 Troubleshooter - Insert said repair media and hit Restart whilst holding down the Shift key. This wil give you 3 options, Continue (back) to Windows 10, Turn off PC, Troubleshoot. Choose Troubleshoot > Advanced Options . . . System Image Recovery. This will enable you to restore not just Windows10 o/s but also all your Apps and Data that you previously backed up as a full drive image
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Even MS recommend using a third party program to perform backups. Win 7 backup has become unreliable. I have Macrium and Aomei and have found them to be very reliable.
If you are going to switch backup your procedure don't forget to create a boot disc or USB.
Agreed on all counts! I too use both those backup apps c/w bootable USBs (Either Macrium's version - or Windows 10 own Recovery Drive having first UNchecked system files option box). [Without System files, only a small capacity eg 1gb USB stick is required}
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top