From WP5.1 to ????????

Reaction score
I could really need some advise from someone who is familiar with WordPerfect (the best word processing system by far) … especially the older 5.1 (or close) version. I am a resume writer and am tired of the familiar conversion problems that take place when you are converting to the standard, yet inferior industry standard systems -- Word! Subsequently, I am going to update my WP version and would really really appreciate any suggestions regarding what version works the best. I constantly use reveal codes, I am constantly indenting which seems like the biggest problem when converting from WP51 to Word 97. I know that learning a new version of WP will take a while to get me up to speed, but I would rather invest my time learning a superior systems, than wasting it learning an inferior system. The quality of my copies are paramount and I can never achieve the same in Word. Would really love hearing from the WordPerfect community! Anyone still using left-function keys out there like me??? Thanks so much … Carmen

Reaction score
I started back in '92 with WordPerfect for Windows 5.1 on my first computer then took a WordPerfect for DOS 5.0 at the local Junior College, helped a lot. I still keep a copy of WP installed, does some things better than Word.

For file commonality it sometimes works best using .rtf/Rich Text Format. I don't use it as much as I used to so don't need the function keys as much as on the DOS version. I feel for most purposes the free LibreOffice can be quite suitable but it doesn't always bring Word macros in properly but it can work with more file formats than OpenOffice, a lot of my clients that got new computers were at a loss when Microsoft Works was no longer included and they couldn't open their recipe files but LibreOffice can use the Works files.