BiDirectional vs Unidirectional

SOLVED Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dustywoodworker, Nov 20, 2018.

  1. dustywoodworker

    dustywoodworker

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Arizona
    Been doing too much reading. More questions than answers.

    In a previous post (No Splash Screen, No F2, No F12) I presented an "observation" regarding my dual monitor hookup. I marked that thread resolved but without a real answer to what I was seeing.

    Now I am wondering - could this be an issue of uni-directional vs bi-directional interfaces? OR could this be a speed issue.
     
    dustywoodworker, Nov 20, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dustywoodworker

    Wolfie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    276
    Hi dustywoodworker,

    you would first need to post a link to the problem here, people don't really know what you are trying to discuss here????. Failing that, a more detailed explanation of what you are trying to achieve would be helpful. :):):)
     
    Wolfie, Nov 21, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dustywoodworker

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,991
    Likes Received:
    764
    Location:
    Denmark
  4. dustywoodworker

    dustywoodworker

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Arizona
    I don't understand the problem well enough to do that and besides - it has been discussed (without resolution) in the referenced thread.

    Let's just drop it there!
     
    dustywoodworker, Nov 21, 2018
    #4
  5. dustywoodworker

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11,674
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    I can only add, anecdotally that, I find often with "fast startup" enabled that many times I don't necessarily see normal prompts for entering the system BIOS or for launching the Boot Menu options.

    I normally resolve this by depressing and holding the appropriate key before pressing the power button.

    You could probably test by using the "Choose what the power buttons do" option from the left column of the control panel power options applet and turning off "Fast Startup"
    BUT
    I prefer to use my resolution rather than sacrifice a speedy start of my computer.

    Capture1.PNG
     
    Trouble, Nov 21, 2018
    #5
  6. dustywoodworker

    Comp Cmndo

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    39
    I believe I understand your situation & had the same issue myself.
    There is a difference between Legacy BIOS & UEFI BIOS, don't know which one you are using.
    Depending upon which one, cold startup will determine the primary monitor output for entry to Setup.
    Prior to Windows booting, the add-in graphics card overrides the onboard graphics output.
    Using both can cause odd behavior prior to boot-up. The graphics card usually disables on onboard. There is usually a BIOS setting to say which is the preferred monitor.

    In my case, I have enabled UEFI & the DVI output on the graphics card is the primary, the HDMI on the card is the secondary. The motherboard also has a DVI & HDMI which I don't use, even though they appear to be enabled.
    The secondary monitor is a 40 in TV which may be on or off at any time

    Sometimes, when doing major Windows 10 updates (new OS version), the primary display would go blank. If I turn on the secondary monitor, the progress is shown there. Windows switched from the DVI to the HDMI. The more recent updates don't seem to to this any more.
     
    Comp Cmndo, Nov 24, 2018
    #6
  7. dustywoodworker

    dustywoodworker

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Arizona
    It sounds to me as though you have answered my question (solved the mystery). In my case, I have a NIvidia graphics card installed but was attempting to utilize the Display Port and an HDMI to drive the monitors. I am also utilizing UEFI BIOS which I really know nothing about.

    At any rate, now that I am connected only to the graphics card, my problem is solved.

    You have probably also answered an unasked question. I have several legacy HDD that were removed from machines know to be functional. None of them are recognized when I try to utilize them on this new computer via an adapter.

    Thanks very much for the follow on comments.
     
    dustywoodworker, Nov 24, 2018
    #7
  8. dustywoodworker

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2,310
    Likes Received:
    353
    Location:
    Guelph On
    Well tell us more about these old drives. What it their interface on the drive itself? What is this adapter? and what is its interface to the PC? Details are everything...in my experience it is remarkably difficult to persuade disc drives not to work!

    IIRC you mentioned that they worked with the adapter in a friends XP machine. Tell all about that.
     
    Tim Locke, Nov 24, 2018
    #8
  9. dustywoodworker

    Comp Cmndo

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    39
    BIOS won't recognize them if they are not attached to the motherboard SATA connectors. If they are installed in a USB adapter, Windows will recognize them & assign a drive letter automatically.

    Windows will, after you assign a drive letter to each.
    Glad I could be of assistance.
    Here is a basic explanation of UEFI.
    https://www.howtogeek.com/56958/htg-explains-how-uefi-will-replace-the-bios/
     
    Comp Cmndo, Nov 25, 2018
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
There are no similar threads yet.
Loading...