Hi I am Bruce Banks and I fix PCs for free

Reaction score
I am a retired Mainframe programmer (COBOL, IMS, DB2 etc.). and I prefer frugal to the "C" word.
My first PC, purchased with company assistance, was an i8086 e/w DOS4.1, floppy & 9600 baud modem with Dial Up internet .
Since then I began building my own PCs using used stuff from other members of the local computer club. I have lived from Windows 3.11 thru 10 and read everything I could lay my hands on starting with Peter Norton's "Inside The IBM PC"
Yes, after a while the techie stuff went over my head so I focused on the practical stuff, I became a beta tester for Windows 7 & 8 and, trust me, I made every mistake a newbie could possibly do, so I got invited into Windows 10 Insider Program
Along the way I was able to help out the neighborhood, keep myself occupied, and find out a few thing along the way

Regedit32

Reaction score
Hi and Welcome to the Forum Bruce.

Those were the days sitting and waiting for the baud modem to transfer data. Do you recall all those tweaks to get a little more pace out of your modem - some worked and some frankly were a waste of time.

I started with DOS myself and a ZX-81, which led to a Commodore-64 where I toiled many hours typing in all those special characters on the keys to create basic programs - only to discover the poorly printed magazines from the UK I had subscribed to often had mistakes *lol*

I switched to an Apple IIe for a while but purchased my first desktop IBM computer soon after which I installed Windows 3.1 onto, later 3.11, then 95, 98, 98se and so on. It took me a while to get used to the GUI interface as I had always preferred working in DOS.

I've programmed mainly in C, C#, VB, JavaScript, Java, and more recently in PowerShell although that began with Monad of course. I never really explored Cobol or Frugal much as at the time it was not too relevant to what I was working on.