How do I activate windows 10?

Discussion in 'Announcements, Suggestions and Feedback' started by jesuslover70, Sep 27, 2017.

  1. jesuslover70

    jesuslover70

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I activate windows 10
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2017
    jesuslover70, Sep 27, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jesuslover70

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    275
    Location:
    Guelph On
    One way or another an activation server at Microsoft has to recognize that you have a legitimate copy of W10.
    Usually when you enter a product key then the machine on which you do that will send a packet of information to MS which will licence/activate the machine. The machine will stay activated unless you make major hardware changes or if you load a different version of W10...I don't mean just an update but say, loading W10 Pro on a machine which was activated with Home.

    In the initial release of W10 a W8.1 or W7 SP1 licenec would activate W10 but that ended long ago.

    If you have a machine which loses activation because you have made major hardware changes then you can often ( but no guarantee) phone MS and explain to them and they will give you a product key or just refresh your activation internally.
     
    Tim Locke, Sep 27, 2017
    #2
    Wolfie likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. jesuslover70

    Wolfie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    167
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.