Hypothetical question

Reaction score
An hypothetical question..what would you do or use if microsoft pulled out of the operating system market?.

Reaction score
Keep on using Windows but obviously no updates. Might have to use a different AV system and possible would use Libre Office.
Or go back to Linux.

Reaction score
I'd just start using Linux exclusively. I've been using it for the past 15 years on my backup PC's and my laptop. I only use Windows mainly for gaming. And that's becoming much easier on Linux.

Reaction score
Depends upon whether Internet service was needed, I still have an 80486 Notebook with MS-DOS 6 and Windows 3.1 but no Parallel-port printer and WinXP, Win7 and Win8.1 computers. Also have Linux Desktop and Notebooks.

Reaction score
Since my hatred for Apple is so strong. It would have to be Linux. I'm assuming if everyone was forced out of Windows. One of the Linux distros would become a much better OS.

Reaction score
Would it be safe to keep using windows with no updates though?
The answer is a resounding "NO"!, any hacker worth their salt will hack your system in record time if you don't have security or system updates!. :) You could continue to use it but don't keep any private files or do online banking. :)

Reaction score
Would it be safe to keep using windows with no updates though?
Conditionally, the answer is Yes. The Condition is that the computer whether Wired or Wireless never, ever, connects to anything other than a printer, no Internet, no E-Mail, no nothing outside the building it's in. Any programs to be used or updates necessary for use have to downloaded from somewhere else and sneaker-netted to that computer.

Reaction score
I forgot to mention that I would use Linux as there are constant updates for the many variants of it and it is 99% free (there are business models and some special apps that cost a bit). In real terms, it is 100% free unless you use a business model!.