Is unattended system a security risk?

Reaction score
I'm new to Windows 10. I've been using XP (and ocasionally Linux) for getting on for 15 years!

I've always been in the habit, when a computer is on, but temporarily not in use, of disabling the internet connection, thinking there might be a security risk leaving the system unattended. There is no possibility of a 'local' attack; I just feel vulnerable leaving the system online unnecessarily.

In Windows XP I used a firewall which, with a couple of clicks, blocked all traffic. In Linux systems there is an icon on the task-bar which will disable the network.

On the Windows 10 system I have to right-click the Network task-bar icon, then "Open Network & Internet settings", click "Change adapter options", then right-click "Ethernet" to click "Disable". Then, as long as I leave the 'Network Connections' window open I have a task-bar icon to quickly enable or disable network.

I get the distinct impression Microsoft really doesn't expect me to be doing this! Am I totally paranoid? Does everyone else just leave their computer online regardless?

Reaction score
"totally paranoid" Maybe, maybe not, it's generally a state of mind. Using Device Manager may be a bit quicker with its Disable on right-click of the Network Adapter [NIC] on a Desktop. On a Notebook, in the Notification Area and its Action Center enabling Airplane Mode will do the same, some Desktops can be had with an optional Wireless/Wi/Fi adapter and the same setting will work.

Reaction score
I don't have any real numbers to quote but from long experience the greatest security risk on any PC is the end user. I'd reckon that an unattended system is thus way more secure that when the user is present!