SOLVED Script Pop Up

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

Newbie here. I upgraded to windows 10 over a year ago now straight away after buying my new desktop (Acer Revo One RL85). Since owning this machine I have a Windows Script Host pop up come up continuously throughout the day everyday.
545.PNG

1 year on and it is driving me crazy, I have googled everything and tried so many things that I now have no idea what to do and hope someone can help? Thanks in advance!

Billie

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum, Billie.

A couple of quickies.

Have you tried a computer search for the string 8F2E67ED-DFAC-B66B-6E2A-C6E9BEA81567?
First, look in the programData folder for 8F2E67ED-DFAC-B66B-6E2A-C6E9BEA81567 If it exists, then scroll through and see if you can identify the txt file. If you have found the path, but there is no txt file, you can cheat by making one with notepad. Leave it blank and add it precisely as you se i9n you script host.

Second, more delicate operation, is to open the registry. Open Edit - Search and type in the context 8F2E67ED-DFAC-B66B-6E2A-C6E9BEA81567. If you find an entry, you could delete it. You must export the registry before you attempt this, as it is not a hack for beginners.

Reaction score
Follow up

By coincidence, another member also has encountered a "script error" He did a self diagnose and found it was the Google toolbar add on which was causing the problem. You could try disabling. But, in his case, it was only happening when he used IE (with the toolbar) Both errors, his and yours, seem to originate from Java script. Not much we can do about it, for the moment, but it is becoming notorious for bugs and allowing rubbish to sneak onto computers.

Reaction score
Hi davehc,