SOLVED Windows 10 - The system call to get the My Document folder failed

Reaction score
I have recently found a problem with a genealogy program (Legacy) which I have been using without issue for several years (through regular upgrades). When I try to open Legacy I get a message “The system call to get the ‘My Document folder failed. Sorry, Legacy cannot be run with this error.’”

I have not experienced this problem with my other programs.

Legacy provided links which were supposed to help me solve this problem but they didn’t work for me. However the links did indicate that this was a Windows problem, not a specific Legacy problem. They suggested that “the problem is with your Documents folder and how it is set up.”

I un-installed and then re-installed Legacy, but that didn’t help.

I also tried two other genealogy programs (alternatives to Legacy) but experienced similar difficulties. One said “Cannot create folder”. The other said “The location for the new project does not exist and cannot be created”.

A fourth genealogy program did work without a problem. A technical support person from Legacy suggested that the reason that the three programs didn’t work is because they all install a directory in your Documents folder while it seems that the fourth program does not.

This led me to think that the problem was not necessarily related to a specific program but was perhaps more generic.

Can anyone suggest a solution for me, please?

Thanks in advance

Robert

Reaction score
The default folder for storing documents in Win10 is C:\Users\USERNAMEHERE\Documents but the program is calling for the My Documents folder. Maybe a setting in the program for default/Options/Preferences is available to change the choice. Or maybe create a My Documents folder in C:.

Reaction score