Burn Windows 10 ISO to DVD

Reaction score
Hi,
I've just downloaded the windows 10 ISO to upgrade my Win 7 PC. When i tried to burn the ISO it said it was too large to fit on the DVD as it was over 5Gb.
Are there any files that can be removed to make it fit on a normal DVD? If so which files and how would I remove them?
thamks,
Gerald

Reaction score
Don't try it. Buy a 8 or 16GB USB drive for $10 and use that. Faster and more reliable as well.

Reaction score
I've been using DVD+R/DL [Dual-Layer] discs for several years that hold just a bit under 8GB. The burner has to support that, will usually have a marking on the face of the tray.

Reaction score
USBs, as Tim suggests, are the way of the future. Most Laptops, for example, these days do not even have a dvd drive, so it would be neccesary to use an external.

Reaction score
Rufus is the program to make bootable USBs from s Windows download.

@Bighorn. Assuming that you can even find a D/L DVD drive anymore! That means you can only use the disk to install windows on another machine that has one.

Reaction score
USBs cost. I find the easiest way, at least for starters, is to put the ISO on another partition or Disk, and mount it - run it from there.

Reaction score
Rufus is the program to make bootable USBs from s Windows download.

@Bighorn. Assuming that you can even find a D/L DVD drive anymore! That means you can only use the disk to install windows on another machine that has one.
True, but then I have clients to deal with and having more than 1 way to do that helps. And I do have 3 of the External USB CD/DVD drives and a couple of the External USB 3.5" floppy drives.

Last edited:
Reaction score
only my desktops and one of my laptop have a DVD burner build in, however for installation I use only USB drives (16GB) which have enough space to add the CU's and other updates for a complete offline install.