Move recovery and EFI partitions from RAID array I want to split

SOLVED Discussion in 'Installation, Setup and Updates' started by spec-chum, Aug 28, 2016.

  1. spec-chum

    spec-chum

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Having gone from windows 7, to 8 to 8.1 to 10 without a reinstall I've started to have a few issues so I've just reinstalled windows to a new drive.

    Trouble is, I didn't think too much and left the old RAID array connected so the recovery and EFI partitions are still on it and Windows Setup used these instead of creating new ones.

    I want to unRAID them now to get my 2 SSD's back but how do I copy the recovery and efi partitions over?
     
    spec-chum, Aug 28, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. spec-chum

    Saltgrass

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    207
    Since you just did a clean install of Win 10, could you reinstall and disconnect the RAID first?

    The info in the Boot and Recovery partitions is pretty much drive specific. Copying it over may not work. If you wanted to go through the trouble you could try or you could create new partitions on the new drive and reset the boot info. Reinstalling would be easier.
     
    Saltgrass, Aug 28, 2016
    #2
    Trouble likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. spec-chum

    spec-chum

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Turns out the solution was actually very easy and much quicker then reinstalling after all that, I didn't even need to use the installation media.

    I just shrunk the new Windows partition down by 100Mb and created a new efi partition using diskpart, then just ran bcdboot C:\Windows /s

    I rebooted and changed boot order and all good [​IMG] I've then also copied over the Windows 10 recovery partition with EaseUS Partition manager for completeness.

    I've now split my RAID array and got my drives back, hooray!
     
    spec-chum, Aug 29, 2016
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.