New hardware requirements for Windows after July 28th

Discussion in 'Windows 10 News' started by Tim Locke, May 24, 2016.

  1. Tim Locke

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Guelph On
    Article in ArsTechnica last evening.

    http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2016...specs-going-up-for-the-first-time-since-2009/


    The interesting thing is how weak they are...with of course many comments as to how the extra cost of memory will make PCs unaffordable and just as many saying that they should be higher for W10 to even work properly.

    And the TPM module stuff. My new mobo has a TPM header ( the addin card is available) but it looks as if any installation/upgrade will be fine but NEW machines will have to have TPM embedded.
     
    Tim Locke, May 24, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Tim Locke

    Vince Massi

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Mexico
    Good article. This MIGHT be Microsoft requiring that new Windows 10 machines actually be designed for Windows 10. Currently, new Win 10 machines are designed for Windows 8.1.
     
    Vince Massi, May 24, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Tim Locke

    Jake B

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    38
    Well most 64 bit OS machines have at least 4 gb of ram when purchased as far back as Windows 7.
     
    Jake B, May 24, 2016
    #3
    Vince Massi likes this.
  4. Tim Locke

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Guelph On
    Yes. This article is writing about those cheap laptops with little memory and tiny M2 discs. There is a member here who has one like that and had trouble doing Windows Updates IIRC
     
    Tim Locke, May 24, 2016
    #4
    Vince Massi likes this.
  5. Tim Locke

    Vince Massi

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Mexico
    Jake and Tim, you both make interesting but disappointing points: MS might only be trying to improve cheap laptops.

    Looking at all the problems people are having with 10 (I love it), it appears that manufacturers need to get moving on building machines that are designed for it.
     
    Vince Massi, May 24, 2016
    #5
  6. Tim Locke

    Jake B

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    38
    Reading other articles on this subject this is only for hardware companies going forward. Current devices already sold will no be affected and will be able to install the update.
     
    Jake B, May 25, 2016
    #6
  7. Tim Locke

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    170
    My PC Dell (2) OptiPlex only have 4 GB of RAM and works perfectly. In fact, I think that Dell recommended 4GB as the max to support Win7 OS. I may be wrong (usually I am) but if 4 GB RAM was good enough for Windows 7 OS, then 4 GB should work just fine with Win 10. Doesn't Win 10 use memory data and page file compression.
     
    Norton, May 25, 2016
    #7
  8. Tim Locke

    Vince Massi

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Mexico
    Norton, here's a surprising fact that drives some people into a rage: a computer with a dual-core CPU and 2 gigs of RAM goes about as fast as a computer can go. More RAM lets you play high-tech games, do intensive tasks like video editing, and multi-task. But your rig won't go much faster.

    Claims that something works twenty times faster are often true. But taking a half-second process to 1/40 of a second isn't that beneficial.

    If you're buying a new rig, I recommend 8 gigs of RAM because of future upgrades and more advanced software. And for high-tech gamers like me, 4 gigs on my Windows 7 machine (currently running Windows 10) is a must.
     
    Vince Massi, May 25, 2016
    #8
  9. Tim Locke

    ram1220

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    22

    Dell is probably recommending only 4Gb of RAm for Win 7 32 bit as 32 bit Windows will not use it all. The 64bit version of Windows can/will use more than 4GB if it is installed.
     
    ram1220, May 29, 2016
    #9
  10. Tim Locke

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    170
    ram1220.
    I purchased 2 refurbished Dell OptiPlex 760 small form factor, Intel dual core, from a MS Authorized repair centre. One Dell had 3 GB RAM installed the other had 4 GB. They were shipped with Win 7 Pro 64 bit and MS Office installed. Both machines worked well with Win 7 64 bit, and I'm thrilled with their performance on Win 10 Pro too.
     
    Norton, May 29, 2016
    #10
  11. Tim Locke

    Vince Massi

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Mexico
    I've had two cheap laptops running Windows 10 just fine with 2 gigs of RAM. No high-tech games, of course. But the kids watch videos and cartoons, and they play games from the Windows Store.
     
    Vince Massi, May 30, 2016
    #11
    Norton likes this.
  12. Tim Locke

    ram1220

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    22

    I never said Win 10 wouldn't run fine with 4GB of RAM. I was addressing your point that Dell said 4GB is the max to support Win 7. I was only explaining that 32 bit OS will only see 4GB. 64bit OS will see as much as you have in your system. 4GB, 8GB, 16GB, etc...
     
    ram1220, May 30, 2016
    #12
  13. Tim Locke

    Defender01

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Essex
    I have 2gb o f ram on a 64bit never had any problems.:)
     
    Defender01, May 31, 2016
    #13
  14. Tim Locke

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    170
    Bill Gates once said "Nobody should require anymore than 64K" I wonder if he still truly believes that. LOL
     
    Norton, Jun 1, 2016
    #14
  15. Tim Locke

    Sante L. Giuliani

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I currently am running Windows 10 Pro on 3 PC's. As illogical as this may sound the weakest of the 3, a Dell All in one with Blueray Drive, a 1Tb HDD, an i5 CPU and onboard video card and 4 Gb memory took Windows 10 from Windows 7 like a duck to water.

    My laptop is an Alienware M17x with 8 Gb RAM, this has an engineer CPU which I can overclock, dual Ati video cards running in Crossfire, it has 2 SSD drives me 1 is 1 Tb, the other 512 Gb when I went to make the upgrade it failed, I looked up the failure code and did the necessary things required and tried again. Not only did it not work I thought it had bricked the laptop. With frustration I went to my main desktop.

    My main desktop PC was a beast when running Windows 7 Ultimate, it has 18 Gb RAM, 3 1.5 Tb HDD's and a 1 Tb SSD, an Ati 5970 dual video card with 4 Gb RAM running in Crossfire mode, 2 Blueray burners, one good for burning 25 Gb RWBD's the other 50 Gb RWBD's, i7 975 CPU factory over locked, and more than I need to mention. Ran into the same issues with it as I did with the laptop so I now had 2 bricked machines.

    I knew my machines were healthy since there were no issues when running Windows 7 Pro on the laptop and Ultimate on the desktop si with Windows 7 disk in hand for each machine I went about the task of repairing the Windows 7 on each.

    It worked but not like prior trying to upgrade to Windows 10. I decided to remove my A/V program Avast on each, download Malwarebytes ( had to do this in safe mode for some reason ), ran Malwarebytes on each and was shocked to find the intrusions I did since I knew these were not there prior to the Windows 10 download.

    I took good notes and when I referenced them I noted both of the 10 downloads came from the same server but the other 10 download did not. While I trust that MS has the servers doling out the Windows 10 upgrade are free of Malware and viruses but after this happening I wasn't so sure any longer. I played with each machine over the next several weeks and finally got them to where they were prior to trying the Windows 10 upgrade with the All in One Dell running like a champ the whole time I was at least becoming well versed with the in's and out's of Windows 10.

    As a retired IM/IT Specialist working for Navy Medical prior to retiring I am a glutton for punishment. If you are having issues with your machine either running Windows 10 currently or are planning to upgrade to Windows 10 I encourage you to download and install the latest free version of Malwarebytes and run it. I always get downloads of this naturre from CNET as I have never had an issue with any software I've downloaded from their server. Then uninstall any A/V software you have, if you used Defender just disable it.

    Even if you are not having issues with your Windows 7 with your Windows 7 disk run a repair and even something minuscule can cause a hiccup. Once this is completed install Windows 10, using this procedure got the 2 machines I thought I had brick running like champs. Don't forget to reinstall your A/V program or turn it back on in the case of Defender.

    This may seem like a lot of work for an upgrade but considering the issues others have run into it's a walk in the park once you've done the upgrade and it works like it's supposed to, I find it the least memory hosed OS ever to come from Microsoft and fast like no tomorrow, it also got my hardware working the way it was intended. I hope this helps someone, regards.
    banjo
     
    Sante L. Giuliani, Jun 7, 2016
    #15
  16. Tim Locke

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    170
    CNET is well known for malware and unwanted forced downloads. I avoid CNET like the plague. Always download from the original vendor sites.
     
    Norton, Jun 7, 2016
    #16
    Sante L. Giuliani likes this.
  17. Tim Locke

    Sante L. Giuliani

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I honestly never had an issue with the stuff I got there, of course it's generally been an A/V or as I wrote Malwarebytes. I always use the OEM vendor for equipment and installed software upgrades and Microsoft for the additional ones that they support directly.
    banjo

     
    Sante L. Giuliani, Jun 7, 2016
    #17
  18. Tim Locke

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    170
    I like Malware Hunter too from Malwarebytes.
     
    Norton, Jun 8, 2016
    #18
  19. Tim Locke

    oldwibowhunter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lap top HP, up graded from Win 7 to Win 10 & can't load pics from SD card with out having my son do it for me. To many hoops, old 7 was so easy it took about 5 seconds to do. Win 10 SUCKS!! Any short cuts like Win 7 ?
    Help Thanks.
     
    oldwibowhunter, Oct 1, 2016
    #19
  20. Tim Locke

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,605
    Likes Received:
    192
    Location:
    Guelph On
    Usually if a problem is insurmountable ( in the Windows context) a 12 year old can fix it in 5 minutes or less and an adult can be taught albeit slowly with lots of repetitions.

    /jk
     
    Tim Locke, Oct 1, 2016
    #20
    Norton likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. wrathofwinds2

    SOLVED Installing new hardware

    wrathofwinds2, Aug 17, 2015, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,270
    Digerati
    Aug 18, 2015
  2. Lynnet

    Older hardware with new Windows 10

    Lynnet, Nov 5, 2015, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    527
    Lynnet
    Nov 6, 2015
  3. clayto

    Hardware loss after driver updates

    clayto, Dec 24, 2015, in forum: Windows 10 Support
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    2,386
    clayto
    Dec 27, 2015
  4. ddwlock

    Windows 10 network speed requirements

    ddwlock, Jan 14, 2016, in forum: Networking
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    447
    davehc
    Jan 14, 2016
  5. Robert Meagher
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    744
    denis lacroix
    Jun 17, 2016
  6. CharlesR

    SOLVED Reserving and Updating after 29th July

    CharlesR, Jun 23, 2016, in forum: Installation, Setup and Updates
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    483
    davehc
    Jun 30, 2016
  7. Benton
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    267
    Trouble
    Jul 17, 2016
  8. BEH
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    421
    Tim Locke
    Oct 4, 2016
Loading...