SOLVED Powershell


Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
155
Reaction score
10
I have been reading a bit about Powershell. Some articles have indicated this is the replacement for batch files.
I was wondering if any of the readers have any comments on Powershell, because my very humble opinion is, it doesn't hold a candle to the ease of batch file system.
Powershell looks to extremely powerful for computer managers, but for regular home users like me, batch files are so much easier.
As I have indicated, I am just a home user and far from being a professional so don't jump on me.
Comments? :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
1,337
Reaction score
197
No....Powershell is the replacement for CMD prompt pane. So right now there are both on your system....well in 1709. In 1803 just powershell is showing but you can still access the CMD in the search window.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,638
Reaction score
903
I am constantly messing with my computers, so may have a different configuration.
Right clicking the Start menu icon shows me the Command prompt, still. I dont recall altering anything there?
As far as I am aware, Power shell still remains a background option. You can make it permanent, using the method I mentioned, by going into settings - Personalisation and selecting the taskbar.
There is, in the drop list there, an option to replace the Command prompt with the Power Shell prompt.
As Bassfisher says, though, in no way are either, replacements for a batch (Dos script) file.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,706
Reaction score
281
PowerShell does replace Command Prompt [both choices] on the right-click of the Start button but Command Prompt can still be used, good for some things. I open it using Search, Command Prompt then when open right-click the icon on the Taskbar and choose Pin to Taskbar. Then I have both available. I believe a tutorial has been published on the other Win10 Forum about changing it back to the Start menu.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,638
Reaction score
903
"PowerShell does replace Command Prompt [both choices] on the right-click of the Start button"
Just had a look at my wife's, unadorned, unmodified, Windows 10 Pro. to confirm.

Only, as I said if you have configured it in the options to do so. My wife's computer still only shows the Command prompts.
Anyway, I think the OP has had his answer.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
1,251
Reaction score
240
No, the power shell was supposed to replace the command prompt in 1803. It did on all five of my Windows 10 machines.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,638
Reaction score
903
Ok Accepted. I now have to investigate and find out why not on any of the machines I "caretake"
 

bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
1,337
Reaction score
197
Mine was replaced as well.....I just have powershell in the power menu or what ever it's called when your right click the start menu.

pwsh.PNG
 

bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
1,337
Reaction score
197
I now have to investigate and find out why not on any of the machines I "caretake
Just guessing here....but it might be do to what OS was previously being used. Where any of your systems running 7 or 8 and upgraded to 10?
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,638
Reaction score
556
I was wondering if any of the readers have any comments on Powershell, because my very humble opinion is, it doesn't hold a candle to the ease of batch file system.
I thought the same, until I tried using Powershell after @Regedit32's article series:

https://www.windows10forums.com/articles/categories/powershell-tutorials.5/

I'm a total convert now - it's so, so much more powerful. It's also a lot easier to use when you want to do something a little more complex. Batch scripting could accomplish most things, but Powershell can do almost anything - it's amazing :).

This site is automatically upgraded (via FTP and a web interface), all thanks to a simple powershell script. I just run it whenever there is an update and it fetches the necessary patches and updates the site in a matter of minutes :).

Take a look at the first couple of tutorials on the link above and give it a whirl - I really enjoy using it.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,638
Reaction score
903
Thinking (Always dangerous for me!) I manage my families (three generations) computers. I believe it is possible that, during the setup of 1803 from a fresh install, I might have bypassed, or changed, the option to have Powershell replace the Command prompt - less questions for me from my family lol.
I dont recall positively doing it, but I dont recall many things these days.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
2,826
Reaction score
622
I still have PowerShell in the start menu. I performed a clean install but as @davehc mentioned, during the install I selected not to replace CMD prompt with PowerShell.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
155
Reaction score
10
Thanks a million or all the replies. Marking this one, 'solved".
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top