Public Build Releases

Reaction score
Why the **** are we not forcing Microsoft in making these build releases opt-in. I'm just a little peon, I can't do it alone. This shit is driving me crazy. What the hell do we have to do to gain control of our own machines again? I'm about ready to go postal on Microsoft. If only I had the funds and the tools to do so.

My son just decided he wanted to manually update through Windows Update. Now his machine is automatically downloading 1809. I have the download and was waiting for Microsoft to state that 1809 was ready for mainstream. I have yet to read this news so have been reluctant in installing the download I have already saved to disk.

I am severely pissed off at how Microsoft is treating us with these damned updates.

Reaction score
https://www.techspot.com/news/77846-microsoft-admits-non-insiders-beta-testing-windows-updates.html

Manually updating makes you a beta tester. It's stupid of Microsoft to do this.

I'm no expert at this but I have learned a lot and sorta enjoy what I am experiencing right now. I have come from 1703 to current with no problems at all. My second machine updated yesterday or the the day before. Both are now Version 1809, OS Build 17763.194.

As for stupid, I don't think I'll go there right now. I've had too much experience in the business world to do that without an awful lot of inside information that I don't have.

Good luck with whatever you chose.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Good luck with whatever you chose.
My point is it is impossible for IT to control the process. When machines are automatically updating before the word of maturity is published. And lately even public releases have not been mature.

Here I am waiting on maturity before manually updating. And now through windows update some machines are automatically updating.

It all makes me want to send Microsoft my ISP bill for the extra bandwidth they are needlessly consuming.

Reaction score