Renumbering displays


Joined
Oct 8, 2017
Messages
19
Reaction score
1
I'm going to throw you all a softball here (at least I hope it's a softball).

When I'm at my workbench, I have a large stationary display positioned over where my laptop sits, and I run independent desktops on them.

Almost every morning, when I start work, I find that W10 has made the upper display my main desktop, probably because it rebooted after a maintenance update or whatever. I have to go into Display Settings and tell it to make my lower desktop my main desktop. It's not difficult, but it's annoying to have to do this every day.

I suspect this behavior is somehow connected with W10's preference for numbering the upper screen as #1, and the laptop screen as #2. I suspect that if I could persuade Windows to consider the laptop screen #1 on a permanent basis (like it is when I'm on the road, obviously), I wouldn't have to perform this ritual every morning.

Is there any way to make this happen?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
793
Reaction score
78
Im not sure why I use 2 displays 1- 48" and 2 is 27" i use settings--> system-->displays-->advanced -->detect and then move them to the position I want...save then reboot. I have never had to change there position. I always turn off the #2 first then shutdown. then #1 is #1 and #2 is always when i restart.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2017
Messages
19
Reaction score
1
You may have missed the point. I don't have to change their relative position, and the top one is always #1 (for now). But the main desktop constantly migrates from #2, where I want it, to #1, without me asking it to.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
793
Reaction score
78
I understand - and mine does not do. that... try detect and the manual move them to the position you want... detect will show the # on the respective display.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2017
Messages
19
Reaction score
1
I joggled their relative positions a bit just to see if it stops the problem, though I doubt it will have any affect.

Oddly, a phantom screen I have never seen before has begun showing on the Settings pane. I can just make out the words "Display not," but it's too small to show the rest. If I choose it, Multiple Displays says "no display detected," which makes me wonder why W10 chooses to show it at all. Under Advanced Display Settings, only two displays are listed.

I suspect this is an unrelated problem, magically appearing at this time just to FUD the analysis of the original problem.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-01-06 at 4.01.16 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2020-01-06 at 4.01.16 PM.jpg
    31.1 KB · Views: 103
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
793
Reaction score
78
I drag as needed and have no issues... hope this cleans your issue...
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top