Renumbering displays


Joined
Oct 8, 2017
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
I'm going to throw you all a softball here (at least I hope it's a softball).

When I'm at my workbench, I have a large stationary display positioned over where my laptop sits, and I run independent desktops on them.

Almost every morning, when I start work, I find that W10 has made the upper display my main desktop, probably because it rebooted after a maintenance update or whatever. I have to go into Display Settings and tell it to make my lower desktop my main desktop. It's not difficult, but it's annoying to have to do this every day.

I suspect this behavior is somehow connected with W10's preference for numbering the upper screen as #1, and the laptop screen as #2. I suspect that if I could persuade Windows to consider the laptop screen #1 on a permanent basis (like it is when I'm on the road, obviously), I wouldn't have to perform this ritual every morning.

Is there any way to make this happen?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
792
Reaction score
78
Im not sure why I use 2 displays 1- 48" and 2 is 27" i use settings--> system-->displays-->advanced -->detect and then move them to the position I want...save then reboot. I have never had to change there position. I always turn off the #2 first then shutdown. then #1 is #1 and #2 is always when i restart.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2017
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
You may have missed the point. I don't have to change their relative position, and the top one is always #1 (for now). But the main desktop constantly migrates from #2, where I want it, to #1, without me asking it to.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
792
Reaction score
78
I understand - and mine does not do. that... try detect and the manual move them to the position you want... detect will show the # on the respective display.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2017
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
I joggled their relative positions a bit just to see if it stops the problem, though I doubt it will have any affect.

Oddly, a phantom screen I have never seen before has begun showing on the Settings pane. I can just make out the words "Display not," but it's too small to show the rest. If I choose it, Multiple Displays says "no display detected," which makes me wonder why W10 chooses to show it at all. Under Advanced Display Settings, only two displays are listed.

I suspect this is an unrelated problem, magically appearing at this time just to FUD the analysis of the original problem.
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
792
Reaction score
78
I drag as needed and have no issues... hope this cleans your issue...
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top