Theme Hospital

Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Hi

I am a really big fan of "Theme Hospital", and I realise that due to this game only working upto Windows 7, it is not longer fully compatible with Windows 8.1 and beyond.

What I would like to know is can this be changed, i.e. a patch within Windows 10 that can allow for old PC games to be played on them?

Many thanks

James
 
A

Advertising

Joined
Jun 7, 2015
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
According to a response on http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_8-gaming/is-there-a-way-to-get-theme-parktheme-hospital-on/88dae6e5-c867-4284-8305-a29c247d0881 it works on Windows 8 (and I would assume Windows 10 doing the same steps) by:
Explore the contents of the CD-ROM and copy the HOSP directory to the C:\ drive.

Navigate to this location and right click on WINMAIN and select properties.

Click the Compatibility tab and select the option 'Reduced colour mode'.

Then double click WINMAIN and enjoy :)
I would try just enabling Reduced Color Mode, and if that doesn't work copy the HOSP folder.
 
A

Advertising

Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
My sincere thanks for the last reply. I have already done this before, and can actually play thought the pointer freezes and it is incredibly difficult to manovere the mouse. The mouse works perfectly well in other places so I know it's the game that's at fault. Also a pop up box says WINMAIN has an error with it. Lasly can't these alterations cause issues with the laptop?
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Same trouble between win10 and the mouse, working on small window but freeze on big screen with DOSBOX : any idea ? James have you find something ?
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Same trouble between win10 and the mouse, working on small window but freeze on big screen with DOSBOX : any idea ? James have you find something ?
Hi Jiminou76, I haven't found anything at the moment. Though what interests me is that Window 10 is supposed to be better then the older versions, Windows 10 can't play Windows 7 games properly
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Solution is this vid, i just tested it before posting online. The only difference with Win 10 is that direct Play will want to install, allow it. After restartng your machine let it completely start (Skype starting with it running made my laptop freeze). I have been looking for this for about 2 years!!! and here it is.
https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid... the link to the file needed
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2015
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Hi Cara

Many thanks for this. Will this definitely work for Windows 10, as it states up to Windows 8.1?

Many thanks

James
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Hi James,

Yes works a treat, i am running 10 just don't choose low res in the game, as well as what i typed in my last reply.

Enjoy theme hospital :)
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Hi,

I've followed the steps you gave but when I go to open the game it says failed to initialise VRES256 screen.

What's this mean and how can I sort it?

Thank you :)
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I copied your method, however I am still getting the enter CD error despite the disk being in. How can I solve this?
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,482
Reaction score
497
There's an open-source remake of Theme Hospital called Corsix-TH which features better support for modern PCs (including improved textures, resolutions etc...). It may be worth giving that a shot?

Take a look at this page (https://github.com/CorsixTH/CorsixTH) and scroll past the filename listings for more info.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2017
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Hello there wish someone could tell me how I can play it on a x64 bit windows 10 os because for the love of me I cant seem to fix it! I tried everything possible, all I get is WINMAIN.EXE error (0xc0000022) and its really annoying me! Any help would be much appreciated thanks again...
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Hi , I keep getting the same as above error (0xc0000022) really frustrating as I love this game! Any help would be appreciated. TIA
 
A

Advertising

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top