Windows 10 and dial-up modem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by T_J, Sep 5, 2017.

  1. T_J

    T_J

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Missouri
    I post some on a boating/fishing forum; and a Moderator there was having trouble with their dial-up modems on older Windows 7 laptops. The internal dial-up modems on both laptops don't work anymore; so using a USB dial-up modem now. Person asked about newer computers and dial-up. Remote area in USA has bad cell phone coverage; so only choice is satellite internet or dial-up.

    Would Windows 10 work with a USB dial-up modem? Would all the large Windows 10 updates be too much for dial-up? Thanks
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2017
    T_J, Sep 5, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. T_J

    Trouble Noob Whisperer Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10,602
    Likes Received:
    1,622
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana U.S.A.
    I have a USB modem that I use exclusively for the rare occasion I need to fax something to someone.

    Capture.PNG

    It seems to work perfectly fine with Windows 10 Pro 64 bit and I would expect similar results with Home and or 32 bit versions of either.
    I couldn't even imagine using such a device for Windows 10 updates (Cumulative updates or Build version "Upgrades")
     
    Trouble, Sep 5, 2017
    #2
    T_J likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. deucedlt

    usb modem error 628

    deucedlt, Aug 26, 2015, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,925
    deucedlt
    Aug 26, 2015
  2. STUARTTENNANT
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,810
    Snuffy
    Jan 30, 2016
  3. shivam

    modem driver installation failed

    shivam, Nov 26, 2015, in forum: Drivers
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,755
    Trouble
    Jan 5, 2016
  4. Miloš Denić

    Phone and Modem ERROR when try to add new Modem

    Miloš Denić, Dec 11, 2015, in forum: Crashes, BSODs and Debugging
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    684
    Miloš Denić
    Dec 11, 2015
  5. Lino
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,198
    dickir
    May 9, 2016
  6. numinbah
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    298
    numinbah
    Nov 5, 2016
  7. borate

    SOLVED Dial-up error 633 w/build 15063 Pro

    borate, Apr 5, 2017, in forum: Networking
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,772
    borate
    May 18, 2017
  8. drin kadriu
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    1,477
Loading...