Windows C Drive Storage Full

Reaction score
I have a new HP Envy PC running Windows 10. I have been receiving notifications that the C Drive is almost full and need to free up space. However, the DataDrive1 (D Drive) which has 1.8TB available is not utilized. Is there a way of setting up the system to automatically use the D Drive? As you can tell I am not very technical!

Reaction score
If you do this by using File explorer rather than settings you can right click on the directory icon, Pictures for example, click on location and then you can choose a destination and move the existing data to that new location with just one click.

Last edited:
Reaction score
File explorer works well for me too. The alternative method suggested; Settings > System > Storage doesn't work on my PC. The default location is "This PC C:\" and won't allow any changes.

Reaction score
I am fed up to the back teeth with Windows 10 for precisely this sort of reason. I don't keep any of my important documents on C drive, especially as much of my work is confidential. I do nearly everything on the D drive and have set up my own storage and filing system on there. This afternoon I needed to scan a couple of confidential docs and save the scans. (I use a Canon MG5740 all-in-one) I was asked to which folder I wanted the scan to be saved but it wasn't there. I did it again, still wasn't there. I changed the destination to 'Documents' on the C drive - no problem, but I then had to move the scans from there to where I wanted them.

Reaction score
This is why I choose the location for all my files. I never allow Windows to use default locations for storage. And it is a pain in the ass to try and manage them. So in the long run it is easier to simply manage my own locations. I have been doing so since the birth of Windows

Reaction score
Same here I've always, (for ever) chosen were to save my files. It's soo easy.

Reaction score