Can't clear DNS cache

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jrj350, Jun 4, 2018.

  1. jrj350

    jrj350

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Beer Sheva, Israel
    Windows 10. latest update -
    My wife's H.P. computer has a problem.
    When I enter,
    in the command window, the display runs continuously. It never stops.
    I attempted to determine if it was repeating the same outputs over and over but failed.
    When I enter,
    the output indicates the flush was successful. That is, the output was normal.
    But then, when I again enter
    again it runs continuously.
    ...
    ...
    My personal computer is also an HP, slightly newer version, and I have no problems with it.
    Any thoughts on this?
    Thank you
     
    jrj350, Jun 4, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jrj350

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    453
    That's a strange problem - if you flush the DNS cache, there shouldn't be anything in the resolver cache to display... :confused:

    Can you try restarting the DNS cache service after you've cleared it and see if that helps? Here's the commands:

    Code (Text):
    net stop dnscache
    net start dnscache
     
    Ian, Jun 4, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jrj350

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    453
    It's also just occurred to me that whatever is in your hosts file may be pre-populated. Can you try opening the hosts file (C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\hosts) and see if there are any entries in there please.
     
    Ian, Jun 4, 2018
    #3
  4. jrj350

    jrj350

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Beer Sheva, Israel
    Thanks for the reply and sorry about the delay answering. I attempt the," net stop dnscache" solution and received this message:
    "the requested pause, continue, or stop is not valid for this service."
    I ran this comand as administrator.

    I have inserted the file you requested.
    hosts.PNG
     
    jrj350, Jun 8, 2018
    #4
  5. jrj350

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    453
    The hosts file looks fine, which is good news. I tried "net stop dnscache" on my machine and got the same error - it looks like the command needs to run as the "network service" user, which isn't simple to do.

    Although it's odd that the DNS cache hasn't cleared, is it causing any problems on that machine - or was it just noticed by co-incidence?
     
    Ian, Jun 10, 2018
    #5
  6. jrj350

    jrj350

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Beer Sheva, Israel
    No, I do not see any problems with this, it is just something that bugs me.
    I do appreiciate your replies and if I ever happen to discover what the problem is, I will post it.
    One more thing ... I cannot reinstall Windows 10 ( to see if the problem corrects itself), because as mentioned this is my wife's computer and her computer savy makes me look like a guru.She does not want me to mess with it any deeper than what i have already accomplished. :)
     
    jrj350, Jun 11, 2018
    #6
    Ian likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.