Can't clear DNS cache


Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
199
Reaction score
19
Windows 10. latest update -
My wife's H.P. computer has a problem.
When I enter,
ipconfig/displaydns
in the command window, the display runs continuously. It never stops.
I attempted to determine if it was repeating the same outputs over and over but failed.
When I enter,
ipconfig/flushdns
the output indicates the flush was successful. That is, the output was normal.
But then, when I again enter
ipconfig/displaydns
again it runs continuously.
...
...
My personal computer is also an HP, slightly newer version, and I have no problems with it.
Any thoughts on this?
Thank you
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,734
Reaction score
629
That's a strange problem - if you flush the DNS cache, there shouldn't be anything in the resolver cache to display... :confused:

Can you try restarting the DNS cache service after you've cleared it and see if that helps? Here's the commands:

Code:
net stop dnscache
net start dnscache
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,734
Reaction score
629
It's also just occurred to me that whatever is in your hosts file may be pre-populated. Can you try opening the hosts file (C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc\hosts) and see if there are any entries in there please.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
199
Reaction score
19
Thanks for the reply and sorry about the delay answering. I attempt the," net stop dnscache" solution and received this message:
"the requested pause, continue, or stop is not valid for this service."
I ran this comand as administrator.

I have inserted the file you requested.
hosts.PNG
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,734
Reaction score
629
The hosts file looks fine, which is good news. I tried "net stop dnscache" on my machine and got the same error - it looks like the command needs to run as the "network service" user, which isn't simple to do.

Although it's odd that the DNS cache hasn't cleared, is it causing any problems on that machine - or was it just noticed by co-incidence?
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
199
Reaction score
19
No, I do not see any problems with this, it is just something that bugs me.
I do appreiciate your replies and if I ever happen to discover what the problem is, I will post it.
One more thing ... I cannot reinstall Windows 10 ( to see if the problem corrects itself), because as mentioned this is my wife's computer and her computer savy makes me look like a guru.She does not want me to mess with it any deeper than what i have already accomplished. :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 24, 2018
Messages
73
Reaction score
3
I just got a new computer. I ran ipconfig/display dns, and all that showed were urls of websites that I had visited. I ran ipconfig/flushdns and checked it again. The cache had flushed. I did this over the course of several days. Then I installed Spybot Search and destroy and used the "immunize" function. A day later, I checked my dns cache to find that a thousand urls existed in my cache.

I ran ipconfig/displaydns and found that the cache was populated with urls to porn sites, italian and Russian sites, gambling sites. THOUSANDS OF THEM. A little investigation revealed that Spybot Search and Destroy populates the DNS cache with these urls as part of its "protection".

They cannot be flushed.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top