SOLVED Can't see the wireless on my lan


Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
I have 3 computers running windodws 10 (2 ethernet + 1 wireless) since the last update The wireless doesn't show up in file explorer! I can type the location in the file explorer's address bar and it will then show up in the navigation pane but is still missing from the files and folders pane! All the necessary files and folders are shared correctly, network discovery is turned on along with file and printer sharing! the 2 ethernet can see each other and the wireless can see the 2 ethernet, but the wireless just doesn't show up unless I manually type the location into the address bar and then only in the navigation pane! Any ideas what's going on? Thank you for your time and consideration! Your cooperation is greatly appreciated!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 5, 2018
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Hello Albert, I have had issues such as this in the past and turning on Network Sharing usually fixes the issue. I see that you have attempted this and it did not work. Try running these commands from the elevated Command Prompt and let me know your results.
Netsh winsock reset
Netsh int ip reset
Ipconfig/release
Ipconfig/renew
Ipconfig/flushdns
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Thank you! I appreciate your quick response but i'm afraid I must apologize, I guess I should have gone into greater detail on what I've attempted to fix this issue! I have a batch file that I run on occasion...
@ echo on
Netsh winsock reset
Netsh int ip reset
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew
ipconfig /flushdns
C:\Windows\System32\shutdown.exe -r -t 0
I still get the same results, I can only see the wireless in the navigation pane and then only after I type it into the address bar
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
5,453
Reaction score
1,110
I am not too hot on networking, but, this happened to me in a recent major update. In my case, I found the permissions on the laptop had been changed by the update to public. Changing it back to private (and making sure the public was turned OFF), solved my problem.
 
Last edited:

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
13,075
Reaction score
2,225
On the problem computer
Open the services console.
services.msc (in the run dialog box)
Scroll down to "Function Discovery Resource Publication"
Double click it and set the startup to automatic and click the start button to start it.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Well, thank you very much, Trouble!! The "Function Discovery Resource Publication" set to automatic and started did the trick!!! : )
 
Ad

Advertisements

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
13,075
Reaction score
2,225
Glad to hear it.
Sometimes it does and sometimes it doesn't. No idea why.
Thanks for the follow-up and letting us know you managed to resolve your issue.
Much appreciated.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
5,453
Reaction score
1,110
Interesting.
I cannot quite figure what the two "Function Discovery" services actually do. After reading Trouble's suggestion, I had a look at mine. They are both on manual, yet I have no problems with my Lan.
I switched them to automatic and saw no difference?
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top