Changing a a hard drive c to a new c drive


Joined
Oct 4, 2014
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
If I replace my hard c with a new one and new window 10 and activate it I then change it back to the old hard drive c which is activated too will the work also
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,407
Reaction score
468
It's my thought one wouldn't necessarily need a new copy of Win10 when changing the hard drive [HDD or SSD] as the Digital Entitlement/Activation is based on more than that drive. I'd certainly use the MCT [Media Creation Tool] to download and create media to do the install.

Most times changing back to the old drive should work as long as the BIOS still recognizes it. But the question of Why? arises, if only to get old data off of it I'd use an inexpensive portable drive case for the purpose, a lot cheaper than a copy of Windows 10.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
It's my thought one wouldn't necessarily need a new copy of Win10 when changing the hard drive [HDD or SSD] as the Digital Entitlement/Activation is based on more than that drive. I'd certainly use the MCT [Media Creation Tool] to download and create media to do the install.

Most times changing back to the old drive should work as long as the BIOS still recognizes it. But the question of Why? arises, if only to get old data off of it I'd use an inexpensive portable drive case for the purpose, a lot cheaper than a copy of Windows 10.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
I have a new copy win 10 and was just thinking of putting on my new c drive and keeping it for later if needed
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
2,407
Reaction score
468
I have 2 computers one I leave alone and the other I play with
Good idea. I have my 'production' computers with the RTM version [1 with Home and 1 with Pro] and also 2 test computers with the Insider Preview versions.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
2,834
Reaction score
624
A clean install on the new HD is the way to go. Whenever you're ready to install the new HD just transfer over your personal data.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top