Cortana issues


XMM

Joined
Jul 10, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
I turned on my desktop today to find W10 had apparently performed an update since I last used it.
I found that Cortana had taken control of my desktop, placing a huge black bar at the bottom of my screen. This bar, contains a small graphic and the words "Try saying....". I can't find any way to remove this annoyance. I don't seem to be able to minimize it or remove it.
I rebooted my machine and the same bar came back on boot up. What can I do? I have no need (at this time) for Cortana. What can I do?
20200710_101834660 (1).jpg
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,986
Reaction score
639
Hi XMM,

press the Windows logo key and go to Settings > Ease of access > Speech and make sure all Cortana settings are at off then restart. A friend had the same problem two days ago and that solved it after running more updates!. :)

1594400780655.png
 

XMM

Joined
Jul 10, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
No luck, tried it several times. So annoying. I'm an engineer who needs full screen access for CAD programs. If I shrink the program so I can see the whole (typical) field of view, it's terribly hard to see the details without the magnifier. Thanks Microsoft
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
2,834
Reaction score
624
XMM Have you attempted to revert to a recent backup or restore point.
 

XMM

Joined
Jul 10, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Norton, I'm embarrassed to say, I have no recent restore point to work from. I save my files on a server, but no backup for Windows 10.
I remember (faintly) there being a way in Win 7, to go back to a point in time prior to the update. I don't see such an option in W10.
All want to do (need to do) is shrink this bar down to the size of a task bar. I could live with that.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
4,986
Reaction score
639
Hi XMM,

have you tried disabling Cortana assuming you don't need it?. :cool:

 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
108
Reaction score
16
How to disable Cortana on Windows 10 Home
The process is slightly trickier and involves editing the Windows Registry. If you’re not comfortable with this process, we suggest taking a backup.

  1. Hit the Start Key, search for regedit, and open it.
  2. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > SOFTWARE > Policies > Microsoft > Windows.
  3. Right-click the Windows directory, and choose New > Key. Type in Windows Search, and hit enter.
  4. Select Windows Search. In the right-hand side pane, right-click in the empty area and choose New > DWORD (32-bit) Value. Type in AllowCortana, and hit enter.
  5. Double-click AllowCortana, and type in 0 under Value Data.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top