Disable airplane mode


Joined
Apr 11, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Airplane mode is stuck at ON and can't use any solution that involves internet access [am doing this at library] as only have wifi which is cut off by airplane mode.
Have tried other solutions like adapter power cutoff option, but doesn't work [the advice to click on the 'RUN' when it comes up is not relevant as the 'RUN' doesn't come up despite having the registry item 'merged'].
Would appreciate some method [command line sequence?] to delete the 'airplane mode' option out of the OS.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 6, 2017
Messages
241
Reaction score
35
Press the Windows and "i" keys simultaneously, click "Network and Internet", click on "Airplane Mode" in the left column, and change airplane mode to "Off".

Ben
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Tried, but still won't change out of ON; did have to go to ''settings'' to access 'Network and Internet', as window + i at same time didn't work, so possibly we have different versions of windows 10.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,722
Reaction score
285
This is how mine is set:
10007

It doesn't show as a choice in Notifications.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
This is how mine is set:
View attachment 10007
It doesn't show as a choice in Notifications.
Only slightly different on left screen, but identical on right. Bottom line is that when click the Airplane mode button which is set at ON, nothing happens except while holding the button down and moving it over to OFF, but as soon as release it, it returns to ON.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2017
Messages
241
Reaction score
35
Please repost with more information, including the manufacturer and model of the computer.

Ben
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 11, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
manufacturer: Itronix Product Name: IX605
Brand: General Dynamics Model: GoBook VR-2
PC name: DESK TOP - 9BVH6QS
BIOS Version: 116
Ram 3.00GB 64-bit OS x64-based processor
Windows 10 Pro Product ID: 00331-20020-00000-AA704
Intel(R) Core (TM) 2 DUO CPU T7300 @ 2.00GHZ 2.00 GHZ
[sorry for delay; only have internet access at library]
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2017
Messages
241
Reaction score
35
There should be a button at the top of the keyboard that will enable or disable the wireless function.

Ben
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,646
Reaction score
446
This looks like a company laptop for 'in the field' use. It may have been setup to do Ethernet only to prevent corruption (in the meaning of malware). Although I did not find anything related in the group policies, I found several entries in the registry regarding AirplaneMode. However I do not know what to change to make it work again.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Initial setup should not be relevant as it initially had internet access only lost it recently [no idea why].
All options to employ the wireless have been activated -- to no benefit as long as the airplane mode remains stuck at ON [ may be a case of malicious hacking, as experienced that in past, but only a guess].
Could installing 'common.dll' be of benefit -- noticed it [or something like it] somewhere???
Thanks to everyone for your efforts.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2016
Messages
208
Reaction score
12
Issue with any wifi, setting going bad is "Reinstall the Manufacture Settings" Dell has a very bad habit or disable the Wifi when updating or upgrading, so simply insert the Original Media and reinstall it set the Manufacture Devices all back to normal."
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,722
Reaction score
285
Since most computers haven't been coming with "original media" like back in Win7 and earlier I'd find the Service Tag that Dell puts on all computer cases and go to www.support.dell.com and put that number in the dialog box then look for the driver downloads for what the machine came with. Many file names will be a letter and a number such a R1234567, save it then double-click to install. You may have to choose the Operating System you have installed.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
OK, my laptop is by Itronix, and not Dell. Checked all labels on bottom, and one has the Product Key and Proof of License [plus misc. other numbers], and the other has the S/N sequence and the CFG sequence. There is another label regarding the chassis. Any of these of any use???
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top