I need some help to locate my Windows Live Mail folders and emails!

Reaction score
Hello! I'm new to this forum and will be very grateful for any assistance.

I have been using Windows Live Mail for around 3 years as my email system for storing and accessing emails. And it is currently working. However, following a recent near catastrophic Windows10 update ( which temporarily rendered my laptop useless) I have become aware that Live Mail is no longer supported and I am keen to save my emails (and their folder structure) using one of the Cloud back-up systems.

So I backed up what I thought were my Live Mail data from the location
C:\Users\Mike\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Live Mail
onto Idrive.com which offers this service.

But having backed them up I inspected them and noticed that they were not up to date and were an old version of the files which were up to date prior to the recent Windows10 update.

Anyway to cut a long story short, I have spent some time trying to locate the currently active files - because Live Mail is currently working on my laptop - but without success.

For example, I have created a folder on my Live Mail with the name zxcvbnm and the searched my c drive - but to no avail!

So I have come to the conclusion that Microsoft has some cunning way of hiding such files and folders. I have clicked the box under File Explorer Options which says "show hidden files, folders and drives". But that hasn't helped.

And I have checked locations other than C:\Users\Mike\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows Live Mail as suggested in a number of other forum sites that I have looked at.

Has anyone else come across this situation? And if so I'll be extremely grateful.

Many thanks for reading this.

Mike

Reaction score
Mike Can you still open Live Mail? If so click on Tools > Options > Advanced > Maintenance tab it may list your storage locations. I have something similar in Outlook but the options are just storage locations and not folder storage path.