SOLVED Real time protection setting.


Joined
Mar 7, 2020
Messages
90
Reaction score
6
I am certainly lost on this one, as a check on Windows 10 Virus + Threat settings, points out that the Real time setting protection is switched off pointing this in (yellow lettering), together with the Slider on?off grayed out. I am unable find a solution to this reference, or a procedure in how to correct. Has anybody come across this and managed to reinstall Real time setting.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,825
Reaction score
525
Do you have a third party Antivirus installed (like McAfee,Norton,etc)?? If so , Windows Defender is turned off by default
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2020
Messages
90
Reaction score
6
I only have Defender and Malware bytes installed annd current. Thanks for your response.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
1,392
Reaction score
287
Do you have the free or paid version of malwarebytes?
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2020
Messages
90
Reaction score
6
Bigfeet, I have the paid version (for life).as it was bought 10 years ago. I believe the current paid version is annual renewal.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 7, 2020
Messages
90
Reaction score
6
Wolfie, that is a good question, I have no idea. Computer was bought from HP in 2009 with Windows 7 Home installed and changed to Windows 10 Home under Microsoft special free offer, but only changed over two years ago. This has come up in my reading up on real time. Computer is appearing to be running correctly. As to why the Real time is grayed out that is my question.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
3,752
Reaction score
477
Wolfie, that is a good question, I have no idea. Computer was bought from HP in 2009 with Windows 7 Home installed and changed to Windows 10 Home under Microsoft special free offer, but only changed over two years ago. This has come up in my reading up on real time. Computer is appearing to be running correctly. As to why the Real time is grayed out that is my question.
Hi Rab,

in "S Mode", you will find an awful lot of things "greyed out" as it is designed for schools and colleges and to stop pupils/students tampering with it!. (And general users too for some reason?).

Did you check what version you have per the link I posted above?. :) You can look in Settings > System > Info and it will tell you what version you have!. I doubt if you have an S Mode version if you upgraded from W7 though, but it might still be possible depending on what version of W7 you had?????. :eek:
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
5,238
Reaction score
1,056
As you say, your version of malwarebytes is a little old, and setup may have changed. But, normally by default, malwarebytes runs resident and would have turned off Defender. That was the reason for bigfeets query.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
1,392
Reaction score
287
Yes, the paid version of Malwarebytes (according to what I read) will disable Defenders real time protection. You still should be able to run manual scans with it. But running two anti virus programs in real time can cause issues. That's why Defender disables itself if you install a 3rd party anti virus. The free version doesn't run in real time, so it doesn't disable Defender.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2014
Messages
1,392
Reaction score
287
Hi Rab,

in "S Mode", you will find an awful lot of things "greyed out" as it is designed for schools and colleges and to stop pupils/students tampering with it!. (And general users too for some reason?).

Did you check what version you have per the link I posted above?. :) You can look in Settings > System > Info and it will tell you what version you have!. I doubt if you have an S Mode version if you upgraded from W7 though, but it might still be possible depending on what version of W7 you had?????. :eek:
I don't believe there's any scenario where an upgrade from any version of Windows 7 would yield an S version of 10.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 7, 2020
Messages
90
Reaction score
6
I agree in what has been said that S mode is not installed in my computer as now checks carried out by me proves to be the case. Thank you all for interest show. Opening Stores, at top of screen caption reads you are not running in S mode. At least this has answered my question.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
3,752
Reaction score
477
Hi Rab,

you marked the thread as solved but I cannot determine from your posts what solved it?. :)
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
5,238
Reaction score
1,056
Hopefully the op will stay with us. However, I think the posts have explained why he cannot turn on Defender. The "S" mode was not, I think, part of the thread context.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 7, 2020
Messages
90
Reaction score
6
It appears that S.mode has been stopped by Microsoft for sometime now and certainly it says on my computer that it is not available. I agree that writings posted .
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I am certainly lost on this one, as a check on Windows 10 Virus + Threat settings, points out that the Real time setting protection is switched off pointing this in (yellow lettering), together with the Slider on?off grayed out. I am unable find a solution to this reference, or a procedure in how to correct. Has anybody come across this and managed to reinstall Real time setting.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top