SOLVED Server Move


Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,641
Reaction score
563
We've had some problems with our current hosting provider, so I'm going to move the site to a new server tomorrow morning (GMT). This comes with a few benefits (such as upgrading to Windows 2016) and some newer hardware, as well as some technical improvements such as HTTP2 and perhaps IPV6.

The site may be offline up to 30 mins while I make the move, but I will perform the transfer as fast as possible at a time when the site is quiet.

I'll keep you posted :D.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,642
Reaction score
445
What time (GMT) do you plan to do this?? Maybe I can sleep another round...After all, I am 5 hours behind the UK and am on Eastern Standard Time
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
1,716
Reaction score
284
Since I'm usually in bed between 0600GMT to 1300GMT it will fit in.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
2,646
Reaction score
307
It is 06:15hrs CET here and the forum is up and running!. :)
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,641
Reaction score
563
I'd estimate I'll get the move started around 9am GMT, it should be pretty quick to do as all the prep is done :).

It's a shame we need to move hosts, but the current hosts have really dropped the ball in the past few months. The new one seems promising, judging from contact so far.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,641
Reaction score
563
I'm going to start the move in the coming minutes, as the site is quiet :).
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,641
Reaction score
563
We're on the new server now - although it may take an hour or two for your DNS to update. Until that happens, it may be slower than normal, as all traffic has to be re-directed via the old server.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,667
Reaction score
909
Looks like I'm late for the party. Everything running smoothly from this side. Well done, Ian
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Messages
2,646
Reaction score
307
I was asleep again, I didn't notice the difference @Ian, do we get a badge or something?. :):):):)
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
2,455
Reaction score
381
I guess you did not enable V6 or your ISP doesn't support it yet.
 

bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
1,347
Reaction score
197
Hey...me too. Always a day late and a dollar short....LOL! It's 6:45 am here (EST) and all is well on my end. Nice job Ian.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
2,826
Reaction score
622
7:01 AM 12:01 GMT Working great here. Good job Ian.
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Oct 27, 2013
Messages
1,641
Reaction score
563
Thanks guys :). Unnoticed is good :D

I guess you did not enable V6 or your ISP doesn't support it yet.
It's supported, but I've not enabled it yet as I've still got quite a bit of behind the scenes server work to do. Once the dust has settled, I'll give it a go :).
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top