Spyware - tracking cookies


bassfisher6522

Moderator
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
1,196
Reaction score
171
Some questions about software for spyware.....merely more of an observation between to 2 pieces of software. Malwarebytes and Superantispyware.

1. Is Malwarebytes supposed to find tracking cookies and remove them? If so I never see them being quarantined.
2. If Malwarebytes does the above, then why does running SuperAntiSpyware right after Malwarebytes, it finds tracking cookies?
3. How to prevent these tracking cookies....if one can?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
4,439
Reaction score
864
I only have the basic method. Maybe another member can come up with something.
I only use IE as my principal browser. Under the privacy tab, choose what I wish to block.
Probably there are similar settings in all browsers.
Interesting, though, you remark regarding Malwarebytes.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
2,826
Reaction score
622
Malwarebytes does not remove or block cookies. Not all (text files) cookies are harmful.
It actually leaves cookie management up to the discretion of the of their customers. However, that said, Mambam will block know intrusive sites that are known for downloading cookies that can harmful to the users PC environment.
I compare Malwarebytes and SuperAnti Spyware to Shoppers looking for cookies. Mr. SuperAnti Spyware thinks all cookies are bad for your health, so he goes down the cookie aisle and removes every single box of cookies from the shelf.
Mrs. Mambam, goes down the cookie aisle and scans every single cookie box label, she removes the bad cookies that are high in cholesterol, sugar and trans fats, but leaves the cookies that are low in cholesterol, sugar and trans fats and high in fibre. Mrs Mambam leaves the customers a variety of delicious and healthy cookies to chose from.

OK! Back to Bassfishers post enough rambling.
I run Mawarebytes Premium on a daily schedule and every night and I also run CCleaner twice.
First run as local user, then I will right click CCleaner and run as Administrator.
You'll be surprised just how much crap CCleaner finds in the Admin account files even after cleaning up the local user (me) files first. I also occasionally also run Mr. SuperAnti Spyware and it seldom, if ever reports (0) finding any harmful cookies.
I believe if you run CCleaner as (logged ON) local user, then run as Administrator you may see different results from SuperAnti Spyware. BTW I also run Glary Utilities 5 every other night and let it run (selected) Spyware Remover, Tracks Eraser, and Temp Files Cleaner.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ian
Joined
May 24, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I just used CCleaner and saw that 1930 new tracking files were added to my computer today. I removed them and discovered that Google had put 1,775 of them on my computer in less than 6 hours. I was hacked last Friday through the Amazon.com site and they will not respond or even talk to me about it. My clains adjuster will not go forward because Amazons security department will not even give one word on the subject. I called them, on the number they gave me and also have the woman's name and dept. she works in. They would not let me talk to her even though she asked me to call her will any added info. I have been with them since 2011, made over $100,000 in purchases in 3 years. I closed the account permanently yesterday which was confirmed by Amazon's email. Then this morning it showed, in their email to me, that as I requested, they reopened my account. I called again today to have it closed permanently. They are using the same identical MO that facebook used with me when I permanently cancelled my account. What is going on here?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
2,826
Reaction score
622
I always use the private browsing mode in Fire Fox and never allow third party cookies, it does cut down on a lot of tracking. I performed a clean install of Windows 10 Pro two weeks back, opened CCleaner after the clean install and found 1200 tracking files

It's got to be MS, Google, Bing...? I never opened my browser, I just immediately went into the cleanup mode.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads


Top