Start menu and search bar not working at all.


Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
As the title says, they haven't been working since i've updated to windows 10. Any ideas on how to fix this?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
2,092
Reaction score
180
  1. Right click Start button
  2. select Command Prompt (Admin)
  3. type Powershell at the flashing prompt > Enter.
  4. Paste the following command
  5. Get-AppXPackage -AllUsers | Foreach {Add-AppxPackage -DisableDevelopmentMode -Register "$($_.InstallLocation)\AppXManifest.xml"}
  6. press Enter
  7. wait for PowerShell to execute the command. Ignore the few errors (in red color) that may pop up.
  8. When it finishes, try the Start menu again.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
So this happened to me this morning. Everything worked great, so I decided to run Auslogics Registry Cleaner and it fully broke the start menu and search and all the system icons. I opened up Auslogics registry cleaner and reverted to the backup before it cleaned and everything was back to normal.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
2,092
Reaction score
180
NEVER NEVER use any registry cleaner.
Auslogics disk cleaner is good. NOT registry cleaner.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Just tried that and it worked but then 5 minutes later my computer crashed and reset it self.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
2,092
Reaction score
180
Repeat, Never use any registry cleaner. Stay away from it.
For accomplished computer experts, go ahead and use it. They know how to fix it if something goes wrong.
If you are not and expert, registry cleaner is a time bomb.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
1,425
Reaction score
280
A tad off topic but how do you feel about CCleaners registry cleaner built in to the program?
To add to your question I agree with davidhk129. And with that said, I have never had ill effects while using CCleaner's registry cleaning.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top