Super slow boot

Reaction score
This problem has been driving me nuts for months, I am no novice, I ran my own computer consulting and programming business for 20 years and this one has just completely beat me.

If I come in my office in the morning, power the computer up, the BIOS whips by in 4-6 seconds and Windows 10 Pro starts booting. Great!

However, if I reboot the computer (power off/on or warm boot) at any time during the day the BIOS (and the little whirling circle) are on the screen for 4-7 minutes at least before Windows starts booting! I have tried everything I can think of, made sure BIOS on motherboard/video card are up to date (even reinstalled both of them with updates from EVGA/NVIDIA websites), disabled everything in the startup function of Windows 10 Pro. Ran chkdsk, sfcscan, and every utility and/or troubleshooter I could think of and the problem still persists. It has been doing this for several months but I have only had time in recent days to really attack the problem in detail. No luck. Anyone got any ideas?, they sure would be welcome. Thanks in advance for any help.

Windows 10 Pro (all updated via "Check for updates"
EVGA Z370 motherboard
i7 8700 (not overclocked)
64GB RAM DDR3
Latest BIOS on motherboard and video card
NVIDIA GEFORCE TITAN X (EVGA)
Drive C: SAMSUNG 970 EVO 2TB
3 Internal HDD (for backups)

Ad

Advertisements

Reaction score