SOLVED Built-in Apps show splash screen, then disappear

Reaction score
Not sure which forum to post this in -- since it may be an installation-related issue. trying here.
I'm at my wits end with my new Windows 10 laptop! The built-in apps (e.g., Connect, Feedback Hub, Microsoft Store, Movies & TV) show splash screens and then disappear after a couple seconds.
Unfortunately, I can't say whether they've ever worked -- I've never tried to use them before!
With respect to the Microsoft Store app, I've gone through the wsreset.exe process -- the result is a dialog box titled "MS-Windows-Store:purgeCaches" which states: "Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access this item." Of course, since Feedback Hub doesn't work either, I can't submit any.
I'm the sole user -- therefore administrator -- of this laptop. I show as having full control of the entire folder/file structure.
Looking at that app, I see it says: "Version 120001.1001.5.0, App 0 bytes, Data 0 bytes, Usage 0 bytes"
Similarly. looking at the Movies & TV app, I see: "Version 10.20011.10711.0, App 0 bytes, Data 16.0 KB, Usage 16.0 KB"
I tried resetting both of them -- no change in results.
Ran some of the "Get-AppxPackage..." seen in other posts command in PowerShell (opened as administrator) to reinstall all apps -- no change in results. However, there were numerous failure messages. Most said: "Cannot find path Program Files\WindowsApps\...." -- for good reason: there is no such folder! A few were "Deployment failed with HRESULT..."
I really Really REALLY don't want to reset the computer -- it's taken quite a while and trouble to get everything up and running smoothly!
Laptop is Toshiba Tecra A50-EC running W10 Pro v. 1909.
What else can/should I try?

Reaction score