SOLVED Can't delete e-mails from Outlook

Reaction score
suddenly I cannot delete emails from my inbox, Clicking on the x won't work, hitting delete won't work. What the heck happened and how do I fix it. I am new to win 10.

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
Welcome to the forums @JNOEL :).

Which e-mail client are you using? Is this the Windows 10 "Mail" app, Outlook, or web-based like Gmail, etc...?

Reaction score
Thank you Ian. I am using outlook. I have only had this for 2 weeks but it was deleting fine. I did have a guy messing around because I can't get my contacs over from ms mail. But that is another issue from this.

To clarify. I cannot get emails to delete, no matter how I try, from the inbox. I can open them and read them, reply, forward. But they will not delete from the inbox. Strangely, when I click on the red x over on the right side, the email will show up in the trash folder and I can delete it from there, yet there is still a copy living in the inbox. Now when I open the email and then try to delete it using the big black x up in the toolbar I get a pop up window that says ' The item cannot be moved. It was either already moved or deleted, or access was denied.' And these are emails I just opened to read. So I am at a loss to figure this out. I have closed down and rebooted, and still not deleting. Help, my inbox is getting plenty full.

Thank you. Noel

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
Thanks for the additional information Noel, I've edited the title to add a bit more info. Do you know which version of Outlook this is? Is it 2016?

Can you please go to File > Account / Office Account and then see if it is set to automatically update. There should be an "Office Update" button in the right column, you can click it and tell it to "update now" or set it to auto-update.