Disabling Com1 (RS232) serial port on boot up

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Support' started by Ben Janees, Aug 8, 2018.

  1. Ben Janees

    Ben Janees

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,
    New to the forum, new to Windows 10.
    I have a legacy system that used Win 2000 as it's o/s. I have upgraded to Win 10, but on boot up windows crashes.
    This is because the Com1 serial port was configured in Win2000 to act like an I/O port and not as a RS232 serial port.
    I have an UPS hanging off the Com1 port, in Win2000 the client software monitors some lines on the Com port for any power outages or low battery via the UPS.
    I know that Win 10 does not support this anymore, but to over come the crash on boot up, can the com1 serial port be disabled anywhere until Win 10 has booted up?

    Hope I have explained the scenario properly!
    Any help or suggestions gratefully received.
    Kind regards
    Jeff
     
    Ben Janees, Aug 8, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Ben Janees

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    Guelph On
    If you disable the port in Device Manager does the machine boot properly?
     
    Tim Locke, Aug 8, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Ben Janees

    Tim Locke

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    Guelph On
    Can the UPS software talk to an USB port? Maybe a serial to USB converter would do the job.
     
    Tim Locke, Aug 8, 2018
    #3
  4. Ben Janees

    Ben Myers

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    24
    Ben Myers, Aug 9, 2018
    #4
  5. Ben Janees

    Grizzly

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Device manager is not yet active as his computer crashes at BOOT-UP.

    The only solution I know is to disable the serial port in the BIOS if possible (and with a machine that old it should be possible). Did you already install windows 10 on that old system?? Just asking out of curiosity cause I have two machines that will not install Windows 8 or higher at all (non supported command set).
     
    Grizzly, Aug 9, 2018
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.