Driver Updates

SOLVED Discussion in 'Drivers' started by Norton, Nov 22, 2018.

  1. Norton

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    619
    I just performed a clean install of 1809.134 as I was annoyed with the CCleaner fly outs for "Black Friday" .
    I had driver updates disabled on the former OS but I'll be darned if I can navigate to disable them again.
    Any help would be appreciated, I don't want MS driver updates messing up my 10 year old PC.

    Sorry I should have posted in the "Divers" Forum, maybe a mod can move the post.
     
    Norton, Nov 22, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Norton

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    619
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2018
    Norton, Nov 22, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Norton

    Grizzly

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    North Carolina
    you can do it via group policy editor as well:

    Run gpedit.msc.
    Goto "Administrative Templates/Windows components/Windows Update"
    look for [Do Not Include Drivers With Windows Updates] and set it to "enabled".
    close everything again and restart.
    This has always worked for me
     
    Grizzly, Nov 22, 2018
    #3
  4. Norton

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    619
    Grizzly Thanks
     
    Norton, Nov 22, 2018
    #4
  5. Norton

    BigFeet

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    176
    Location:
    Syracuse
    Lol. I had to check to see if I had done that after I did a fresh install a few months back. I did. I couldn't remember doing it.
     
    BigFeet, Nov 23, 2018
    #5
  6. Norton

    Wolfie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    276
    Quite possibly related; I am having problems with WiFi on my laptop after a recent update, I am not sure but it might also be something to do with moving my router around after moving the flat around a bit?. I will try it a few times and do a system restore if it still happens!. Good to know that I can defer updates if needed!. :):):)
     
    Wolfie, Nov 24, 2018
    #6
  7. Norton

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,991
    Likes Received:
    764
    Location:
    Denmark
    The link you found yourself, Norton, included the GP
    But I see you are using the Pro edition? (No Gpedit in Home)

    But, the path you were seeking, possibly.
    Settings - Devices - Scroll down to Devices and printers.
    Right click your computer and, in the drop down menu you will see
    "Device installation settings. It is in there.

    The facility, if it is working, is also still available through the Control Panel. Same path though, in the end.
    From the options displayed, choose System
    A new window will pop-up. Choose Advanced System Settings from the menu on your left.
    The system properties window will pop-up. Open the Hardware tab.
    There you have the option to stop driver downloads (if it works!)
    However, I have mine open, but it still failed to download some useful intel driver updates
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2018
    davehc, Nov 24, 2018
    #7
  8. Norton

    Norton

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    619
    I used gpedit to make the changes after lean clean install. This install I only installed the software programs I use regularly from my flash drive downloads. Saved 13 GB. :) and CCleaner wasn't invited, AVG have ruined what Piriform created.:(
    I'll just rely on the native Windows Storage, and disk clean, to clean up temp files.
     
    Norton, Nov 24, 2018
    #8
  9. Norton

    davehc

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,991
    Likes Received:
    764
    Location:
    Denmark
    I wouldn't like AVG to get a bad name. Lol. Avast own Ccleaner!
     
    davehc, Nov 24, 2018
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.