Error 6006 while trying to install Realtek 2.75

How to fix Error 6006 while trying to install Realtek 2.75?

  • yes

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • no

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    0

Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
In order to get Cortana to work, I need to plug-in my headset to the front panel. Currently, the front panel doesn't work, but I've read Realtek will fix this problem.

I have tried to install Realtek 2.75 64-bit, but keep getting an error code 6006. The dialogue box gives three solutions: Close all other apps, clean Temp files, and check your internet connection (web based installs).

I have done the first two operations for a solution, and ignored the last since I'm installing from my computer. But those suggestions haven't helped.

There are quite a number of different answers for how to fix this problem including one that suggested using SmartPCFixer, which I did, but nothing has worked for me so far.

Has anyone else encountered this problem. Have you fixed it? If so, how?
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
13,083
Reaction score
2,226
Any front panel connections on your case are likely connected to their respective motherboard connectors.
Whether they function properly or not might very well be contingent on whether you have the proper motherboard drivers installed, specifically the Chipset Driver as well as any associated BUS drivers.
My best advice at this point would be to check with your MotherBoard or PC Manufacturer for those drivers and see if installing them will help with the issue.

With respect to your having used something called "SmartPCFixer" I would suggest that you consider uninstalling that, as those types of programs are often loaded with Bloatware some of which might be considered Malware as well. While I can't speak specifically to that particular program, it has been my experience that they generally don't work and often are just a scam.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
In order to get Cortana to work, I need to plug-in my headset to the front panel. Currently, the front panel doesn't work, but I've read Realtek will fix this problem.

I have tried to install Realtek 2.75 64-bit, but keep getting an error code 6006. The dialogue box gives three solutions: Close all other apps, clean Temp files, and check your internet connection (web based installs).

I have done the first two operations for a solution, and ignored the last since I'm installing from my computer. But those suggestions haven't helped.

There are quite a number of different answers for how to fix this problem including one that suggested using SmartPCFixer, which I did, but nothing has worked for me so far.

Has anyone else encountered this problem. Have you fixed it? If so, how?
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
I solved my own problem. My profile was corrupt. I loaded a new one and installed Realtek using compatibility for Windows 8.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Any front panel connections on your case are likely connected to their respective motherboard connectors.
Whether they function properly or not might very well be contingent on whether you have the proper motherboard drivers installed, specifically the Chipset Driver as well as any associated BUS drivers.
My best advice at this point would be to check with your MotherBoard or PC Manufacturer for those drivers and see if installing them will help with the issue.

With respect to your having used something called "SmartPCFixer" I would suggest that you consider uninstalling that, as those types of programs are often loaded with Bloatware some of which might be considered Malware as well. While I can't speak specifically to that particular program, it has been my experience that they generally don't work and often are just a scam.
Thank you for your post. Actually, SmartPCFixer is quite a good tool with no noticeable bloatware. Thanks again.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Moderator
Joined
Nov 19, 2013
Messages
13,083
Reaction score
2,226
Good to hear. Thanks for posting back and updating your thread with that information. And by the way.....
Welcome to the forum.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top